Do you use a certain soap?

My husband and I both have type B personalities. However he has always used the same products since I have known him. If I tried to buy anything other than Dukes mayonnaise or if brought home mountain dew rather than Diet Sundrop he would wonder what in the world I was doing.  He has other things that are very routine and it often makes me laugh because he is so easy-going. For instance there is a certain way to make his sandwich – the mayonnaise always needs to be on the cheese side and the mustard on the meat side. He likes his LIFE cereal to be so soggy that it’s blended into the milk. He drinks un-sweet tea with 2 packs of sweet n low. He likes his clothes hung up only on glass hangers. He likes dove soap and it has to be the same kind (color/smell).  I once brought home a new bar that I thought would be a little something different and even though it was the exact same color he noticed as soon as he seen the box.  Last night was the last session in the STUCK study by Jeannie Allen.  I have loved every second of our life group. I literally stood in awe last night as each woman shared stories of how God is using such painful past and other struggles to bring about change and freedom in their lives.  The first week of our study I heard things like “ I hate the way I look”  “ I worry constantly over finances” and last night as we stood in a circle hand in hand we praised our Creator and I heard these NEW statements “I am finally learning to embrace that I am a masterpiece” “I have given my finances and my past to God”.  I drove away with such a full heart.  As we were reading through John 15, I was reminded yet again that God’s words are so powerful because when we encounter Him we are forever changed. Its like the perfect soap to our hearts.

John 15    1 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. 3 Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you.

When we place our hearts inside God’s heart it’s what connects us to the vine. Because our hearts are connected to the vine we begin to see fruit grow out of our lives.  Joy, peace, and love for others as we begin to walk IN Him.  It also says in verse 2 that every branch that does not bear fruit He prunes. Pruning is difficult and it hurts when this happens. Relationships are broken, struggles surface  yet we tend to only see pain.  Our Creator is often pruning us in order to bear MORE fruit.  We want to see and understand His plans and then we miss him in those teachable moments of frustration and brokenness. Verse 3 is what I have never noticed until last night. It says “Already you are CLEAN because of the word that I have spoken to you.” We are clean. We are clean. We are clean.  When I talk to girls and women of all ages they walk in the constant regret of their past and can’t seem to get past the “dirtiness” of who they use to be.  That is a lie from the enemy. Most women walk in the fear of who they use to be so deeply that they can’t embrace freedom because they don’t believe they were ever forgiven to begin with.  Verse 3 reminds me of that soap Richard loves and can’t seem to live without ha.  He once said he doesn’t feel as clean unless he uses that particular soap.  When we encounter God and our heart collides with him and we move into the place of abiding IN HIM we are no longer unclean and nothing else will complete us except our heavenly father!   If you are reading this and you are numb to your dreams and cannot move forward with all that God has for you,  be encouraged that God has forgiven you and wants to do amazing things through you!! I believe in you and even more the Creator of the universe CHOSE YOU!

Holly

One thought on “Do you use a certain soap?

Leave a Reply

