christmas gift in May?

Isaiah 43:19 “See, I am doing a NEW thing!”….

I came across this verse this morning and it has just stuck with me. My love language is gifts and so of course I love NEW things 🙂 I don’t just love the gift itself but the packaging and the cute tissue paper sticking out and so on. What is funny is that most of my family almost always give me a present in MAY for my birthday in a grocery bag-or the bag from they place they purchased it or my favorite left over Christmas bags. I have come to terms with it and I will eventually heal (kidding). I thought about the process of giving someone a gift and all the thought or the lack there of that goes into it. For instance when I am buying teacher gifts I usually have a sheet with all their favorites on it and so it’s easy to get a cute basket and fill it up with all their favorite candies, candles, lotions etc. There is no SURPRISE factor. With Friends I love buying cute gifts and really thinking about how or why I am buying that gift. And then there is the “oh my gosh what in the world do I buy them present” that usually ends up a gift card or money. For me I am a surprise gift kinda girl. I love the anticipation of what’s in the box or bag. I like shaking it, driving you crazy with the desire to know and if left alone I would probably peek!!!! I also have realized that I could care less about the amount spent on a gift. If it is lip gloss a pen or a cute journal than my heart beats with a smile on it. I just love the NEWness of it. God has the exact same effect on our lives. He wants to give us more than we could ever imagine and SHOCK us a few times along the way! (Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,” What if we would lived our lives surrendered to the Creator of this Universe who made a woman out of her man’s rib- who spoke the stars and ocean into existence and lavished us in His grace and made us NEW?? WOW imagine the possibilities…

Holly

Leave a Reply

