I prefer to be on the bus….

Richard and I are still talking about our 5 day adventure to New York-Washington and Philadelphia. I am sure we will always remember this anniversary for years to come. One of the highlights of our trip was riding around on top of a double decker tour bus. It was suggested to us by a friend and he told us to make sure we get on the top so we could really see everything. It was reasonably priced and we used it as our mode of transportation the entire time we were there (it was a hop on/hop off bus). We would ride until we saw something or a place we wanted to visit. The adventure began as soon as you would get off the bus because the walk to whatever you wanted to see was usually a pretty good ways from the bus stop. It was so easy hopping off those buses but we usually always seem to get lost and have a hard time finding our way back to the bus stop. I thought about my journey through self image issues and the 14 years I have battled my weight. It has taken me through some of the deepest times in my life as well some huge victories. UNBOUND Ministry came out of my struggle and the realization of who I am in Christ. Over two years ago I began this journey of working on my heart towards food and the way I view my body as oppose to actually stressing and obsessing over losing weight. I see things so differently now because I see how God views me. I was viewing food as a means to completion and if I lost weight than I was happy and when I stepped on the scale and I had gained or if I was around people who were beautiful and “skinny” I would walk away in complete defeat mode. God was setting me up for this season in my life and I am loving this journey. Several months ago I read Made to Crave (incredible book) and I began to see just how addicted to food I was. In the midst of our 6 week small group I joined weight watchers and I began to learn about portion control. I have now asked a very close friend of mine to become my accountability partner. I have never in 14 years had someone to truly stay on top of my eating habits and encourage me non stop. She is telling me all kinds of crazy tips-nutritional facts and ideas for eating. I find myself looking at labels, reading about nutrients because I know she is going to ask me what I have eaten. She created me an account online that I have to log my food in and for the first time EVER I am honest with my food consumption and she always pushes me back on track. I never once get mad or try and hide it from her and that is CRAZY! I compare it to that double decker bus tour because the journey back to the bus each time made me that more thankful and ready to just ride and enjoy the view. I have recognized my triggers and I am really trying to fight this addiction with not only my discipline but I am saturating myself in God’s word. God has given me a body to take care of and to nurture. I am choosing to rest in His presence as He pushes me and molds me to be who He created me to be. I read some blogs from like 4 or 5 years ago and I was brutal to myself. I said things like “I hate my body and who I am when I look in the mirror” I almost cried because that girl has been gone for a long time yet I weight almost the exact same thing. God has done a work in my heart over these last few years and I see transformation happening! He works from the inside out and though it has been painful at times I am tasting VICTORY on and off the scales! God’s word has become like honey to my lips and I am learning to walk so close as I push with all I have into Him because I want to see Him rather than my struggle-

Ecclesiastes 3:11 Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heart, but even so, people cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end.

2 Corinthians 5:17 17 Therefore, if anyone is IN Christ, he is a NEW creation; old things have passed away; behold, ALL things have become new.
I am being made new…..

One thought on “I prefer to be on the bus….

Leave a Reply

