lost in NYC… literally

Remember the movie Home Alone (lost in New York)?? I always love watching how clever and resourceful that kid is. After last week I now know that is crazy! I can’t imagine a kid being alone for 5 seconds in NYC much less a day or two! One of the many adventures we had last week was getting lost for about 3 hours. We literally stepped on the subway at 9pm and walked in our hotel room at midnight. When we first realized we were lost I was a wee bit scared but two hours later and 3 subway rides into the middle of NOwhere twice my scared meter quickly climbed to TERRIFIED! My heart was beating fast as we literally had no idea how to get back to our hotel. I honestly don’t think I have ever been that scared for my life. Everyone gave us different directions except for the taxi drive who actually drove us FINALLY to our destination. I thought about how so many people wear the name Christ follower and yet their lifestyle points others in the opposite direction of the cross. Living as they please and chasing after happiness outside of God’s perfect plan. When we allow our desires, our circumstances and our dreams to guide us then we usually end up way more lost than when we started and we begin to question God’s presence and we become numb. I remember that cab ride to the hotel- we were so thankful and continuously told him how much we appreciated the ride. I saw Rich give him a big tip and I thought to myself that guy has no idea how much we were dependent on his direction for that short ride. Just like those people around you that are searching for hope, peace direction and safety they may be looking to you to lead them and most importantly walk beside them to Jesus. God has placed you within their path to walk beside them to the cross. When we push through our insecurities we then allow God to shine so brightly in us that they no longer see you but Him. I don’t ever want to feel like I did when I was lost in NYC- I also want more than anything my family members, my co-workers, the kids that I see weekly at our block parties, my friends on facebook, twitter and strangers that I meet to also know that I love Jesus not because I speak it but because I live it! God You complete me- You created me- You purposed me… USE ME

Luke 8:16a”No one lights a lamp and then covers it with a washtub or shoves it under the bed. No, you set it up on a lamp stand so those who enter the room can see their way.”

Leave a Reply

