the night when the lights went out….

Over the past several months we have had some pretty hardcore storms hit our city and surrounding cities. A lot of my friends lost power for like a week and some for two but we never lost power. Last night we had a small thunderstorm come through and our lights began to flicker and then soon following they went out. I scrambled for my cell phone and found matches to light a candle that was near by. My youngest daughter Rachel was pretty afraid and so we all went outside on the porch at 9:00 at night with a candle and a few blankets. They liked the excitement of seeing everything dark and even asked if we could camp out on the porch. It was clearly after their bed times and so we made our way inside and Richard looked everywhere for one of our 40 flashlights but of course he couldn’t find any. We all grabbed our blankets and laid down in our living room while the storm moved on. Rachel fell fast asleep and then Richard began snoring and then Rebekah was out. I laid there looking at the flickering candle that was almost out and silence filled the room. I was almost afraid and I realized that darkness like this is represented in so many of our lives I believe that just like the storm took all means of light out of our home our struggles and sin in our lives also seem to choke the very life out of us and causes our light to grow dim. So many girls struggle with the desire to be loved and wanted from guys and when they fall into unhealthy relationships they look back and question themselves because they never saw darkness closing in yet they walk away feeling dirty. I have also talked with girls who are desperate to feel pretty and they skip one meal and it turns into a few meals and then they find themselves throwing up and unable to keep any food in them. God designed us to be light. When we fall into sin or give in to our struggles we tend to question our faith and at times we blame God for allowing us to be in that place of darkness. Just like last night I had flashlights all over my house and yet the very second our power went out I couldn’t see anything in order to find one. I didn’t think to go and get the flashlights when the storm hit because the weeks leading up to last night we hadn’t lost our power. This made me think about a scripture I read this past week and how one area of weakness can lead to vulnerabilities and then you find yourself battling with your heart unprotected. The verse that pushed me and has been stuck in my head this entire week is the last part of verse 13 …” after the battle you will be standing firm’- … I fail daily in so many areas and this pushes me to recognize my areas of weakness and to realize that in those moments of darkness I am not ready for battle. I want more than anything to walk in victory and move the darkness completely out of my life. It’s up to me to saturate myself in God’s word and to rest in presence as I prepare to battle in the dark.

Ephesians 6:
10 A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in His mighty power. 11 Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. 12 For we[c] are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. 14 Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. 15 For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared.[d] 16 In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil.[e] 17 Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18 Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.[f]

Leave a Reply

