He will finish what HE started-

Yesterday I sat outside on the deck with my bible and journal and as I sat there in complete silence all the to-do list began filling my head and consuming my thoughts. I closed my eyes and just tilted my head back and began listening to the birds above me on the tree limb and as I felt the breeze across my face I also heard a few bees buzzing past me. I had made the shift from the chaos of life to complete serenity with just a tilt of the head and the closing of my eyes. Ha if only it were that simple at times to walk away and forget all the stuff that plagues our minds and keeps us from experiencing God fully in our lives. I just read what I wrote and laughed because it sounds like I could have advertised for a spa or yoga commercial. (hahaha) Most of us don’t find ourselves in moments where we position ourselves to rest, or to just get away from our thoughts, worries and chaos of life. We tend immerse ourselves in those list and when we don’t complete them we are left feeling defeated for what didn’t get done. I have been reading in James this week and just the first view verses have changed my perspective on those list that NEVER get completed, those circumstances in our lives that often leave us restless and in tears, and those thoughts that plague our minds until we hang our heads and walk in defeat. James1: 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5 If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you

Consider it Joy? For me joy isn’t my first reaction most of the time however… After reading and really poring over this scripture this week I have really focused on my response to things that hit me out of the norm and even daily frustrations. When I face trials this produces perseverance. Perseverance means: continued effort to do or achieve something despite difficulties, failure, or opposition. When we find ourselves facing tragedy beyond comprehension, financial difficulties that seem GINORMOUS or that dream that seems to be shattering right in front of you cling to verse 4 “let perseverance FINISH its work in you that you may be mature and COMPLETE, not lacking anything.” This truth is incredible and I am resting in those simple yet powerful words this week. We long for completion through financial security, fame, relationships, smaller sizes you name it and yet God says face those trials with JOY and allow me to finish what I began in you as I COMPLETE YOU. This week look to your responses and know that He is doing some incredible things in and around you. Position your heart to hear His sweet voice and trust that He will finish what he has started.

Leave a Reply

