She Speaks Conference and my cabbage patch doll-

When I was growing up I spent many hours playing with my cabbage patch kid. I named her I dressed her and she went everywhere I went. As years passed into my teen years my house caught on fire and many of my prize possessions were burned and couldn’t be replaced however my sweet “Jessica Nicole” only had minor damages. Although I was a teen girl who only cared about cool clothes and cute boys my heart was at peace because this doll represented some pretty amazing memories growing up. My dad left our family when I was only 7 and that sweet doll would listen to me talk for hours and never once did she walk away. As I moved into college this doll was tossed into a closet back at home and then as I married I didn’t think or wonder if I had that doll any longer until one day only a few days away from my mother in-law passing I began to look through old things and I came across this box with this beautiful doll barely clothed, full of dirt and yarn hair that was in knots. I began to tell my daughters about how much this doll had meant to me when I was a little girl and their little eyes lit up and wanted to hear all the stories they could about me growing up. I told them she was my very best friend when I was a little girl and my oldest daughter said this to me “mom then why is she half way naked and out here in a box”. I thought about that question and I realized that it was the very opposite with my Jesus. He met me in that place of brokenness and spiritually nakedness and wrapped me in His unconditional grace and placed within me a new heart. Ezekiel 36:26 says this “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.” My pain, my victories, my passion, my past and my story connects back to that moment I fully surrendered my heart to Christ! I no longer walk in defeat instead I see God in the midst of my struggles and I am embracing FREEDOM with my whole heart. He is connecting my past struggles to new passions and desires to serve Him and reflect His heart. In July The She Speaks Conference will be held in Charlotte NC. This conference is about women connecting the hearts of women to the heart of our Father God and that your heart is to serve Him and His daughters, as He leads.

http://shespeaksconference.com/

http://www.aholyexperience.com/2011/03/how-christians-create-art-she-speaks-scholarship/

Leave a Reply

