A funeral procession led me to peace.. ok not really but kinda:)

Today I did the unthinkable- I mean the rudest most crud thing I could have done. I was riding down the road and I was on the phone and I see a spot come open in the left lane and I took it. As I proceeded to talk I glanced in my rear view mirror and I saw a Hurst behind me and when I looked in front of me it was either the family or the pall bearers I couldn’t really tell. I HAD BROKEN INTO A FUNERAL PROCESSION LINE! I was so embarrassed that I could feel my face beaming with redness. I thought do I proceed to the grave side service and pretend as if I know this person or do I make a sharp turn and get the heck out of dodge. As I continued on the road and the funeral procession turns left I kept going straight. I laughed uncontrollably and hoped that NO one with this procession would recognize my car. I went on about my day but as I drove away I thought about the process of death and how people always say how “peaceful” someone looks after they have died. I have struggled my entire life with truly grasping peace in the midst of my struggle and I want to feel this peace NOW not after the fact. I was reading in John about peace and I began to think about what this word means in the truest since in this season of my life. I looked over the different definitions and when I came across this one it was like the light bulb went off in my head and for the first time in my life I felt this peace deep down in my heart. PEACE- freedom from disquieting or oppressive thoughts or emotions. My heart was overwhelmed because I realized I am truly seeing FREEDOM in this area of my life. I am conquering food addiction and even more I am having victory in my thoughts! God is the giver of peace and even better He gave us HIS peace. John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; My peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. When I see my addiction, or when I feel as if I can’t accomplish the day ahead of me or I can’t seem to make peace with my past I am encouraged by Romans 16:20 The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet. The grace of our Lord Jesus be with me. There is nothing I can do to bring peace into my life whether it is through food, ministry or even friendships. It’s me letting go of my grip and allowing God to CRUSH Satan for good and embracing Jesus with my WHOLE heart… now that is peace!

Resting in His peace today
Holly

.

Leave a Reply

