nightmare and dead bodies…

Nightmares can be surreal at times. The other night I woke up from a horrible nightmare and my heart was racing. The intensity of my dream was freaky because there were too many dead bodies. I am hoping my dream wasn’t for literal purposes. When I sat up in bed I turned straight to prayer (after I made sure there was NO one in my bedroom about to get me) and said God will you please calm me. It was as if He wrapped His arms around me and almost immediately my heart began to slow down. By this point I was so worked up that I couldnt fall asleep right away so I began praying for several people in my life. I prayed for healing,restoration and the dreams that I have as well as the dreams others have. I sat laying still in the presence of my Creator and in that moment the fear and visual from my nightmare had faded in my mind. The next morning I was reading in Luke 1 and tears began to run down my face….

Luke 1:34 Mary asked the angel “But how can this happen? I am a virgin.” 35 The angel replied, “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the baby to be born will be holy, and he will be called the Son of God. 36 What’s more, your relative Elizabeth has become pregnant in her old age! People used to say she was barren, but she’s now in her sixth month. 37 For nothing is impossible with God. 38 Mary responded, “I am the Lord’s servant. May everything you have said about me come true.” And then the angel left her.

I can’t imagine being a teenager and accepting such a huge responsibility to carry the SAVIOR of this world. I began to think of all the self-doubt I would feel,the inadequacy and all my insecurities and verse 35 jumped off the page and spoke directly to my heart. vs 35 “The Holy Spirit will come upon you and the power of the Most High will overshadow you”.. wow God’s power will overshadow you. What a place we all want to be living in the shadows of our Creator. God chose a humble girl who questioned “how can this happen” and He used her weakness and fears to change the course of history. God’s power is made KNOWN in our weaknesses! Just like I could never imagine being in the shoes of Mary I also think about all the circumstances God has brought me out of or through in order to bring me into the season I am in today. Today when you are doubting your abilities or your dreams seem so far out of reach or healing and restoration seem unattainable at this point know that God’s power overshadows you and when you are resting in His power things happen beyond what you ever could imagine. Luke 1:37 For NOTHING is impossible with God 🙂

Leave a Reply

