one cup of great delight please:)

Every morning I am tempted by Dunkin Donuts.  This morning I gave into a yummy pumpkin spice latte. I loved every drop of this yummy GREAT DELIGHT!

“The People rejoiced ….for they had given freely and wholeheartedly to the Lord.” 1 Chronicles 29:9

I have read this verse for over a year now because I see it daily on my desk. But today I saw the part that said “the people rejoiced” to rejoice means to feel joy or great delight. Many of my friends wouldn’t classify their current circumstances as “great delight”.  But the next part of that verse said for they had given Freely and Wholeheartedly to the Lord.   I thought long and hard about this and about so many times in my own life I wasn’t happy or joyful and my cup of great delight wasn’t spilling over and yet  I was giving freely and what  seemed to be WHOLE hearted devotion to my Jesus.   And then it HIT me like a ton of bricks.   I was GIVING my time, my devotion, my thoughts, my actions and my fears but my heart wasn’t fully surrendered. I was so wrapped up in all the DOING that it only led me back into a place of hunger for wanting more.  I was serving people in the name of Jesus but my heart wasn’t surrendered to Him fully.  Think about the word WHOLE it means ALL of something.  Our hearts are full of those dark places of unforgivness, disobedience, fear and shame.   Today as you look deep within your own heart in those places that are holding you back from tasting joy and great delights remember Jesus came to FREE you.  He said ALL things work together for the good (Romans 8:28) so the WHOLE circumstance good, bad, hurt and all will bring you to that place of sweet surrender if you just let it.  When those circumstances that seem to knock the breath out of you occur please know that Jesus longs to heal and sooth the very depths of your soul.  He didn’t create guilt, fear, pain and unforgivness because those are the very things satan uses to keep you from running to Jesus WHOLEheartedly.   Satan knows that if he can keep you locked into those feelings than you will never ever be able to fully and FREELY give WHOLEheartedly to  Him:)

He wants your WHOLE heart….

Holly:)

2 thoughts on “one cup of great delight please:)

Leave a Reply

