no more skeletons….

This week I have finished reading through James and I can honestly say that God has shown me so many new things about myself, being in the ministry and who He is. I declare freedom at times and yet I live as though He never died on the cross for me. I allow thoughts to penetrate my heart to the point of bitterness. This past Sunday my church participated in communion and it wrecked me for the first time in a long time. I sat and thought about this small piece of (yummy) bread in my hand. I thought about each mark that was upon His body. My negative thoughts, my bitterness, my gossip, my distrust, my disobedience, my words and on and on and in the very next moment I tipped my head back with the rest of the congregation and drank the grape juice that represented my forgiveness, my grace, my hope, my love and my future. I realized that life isn’t about issues that arise or how I am supposed to handle them, it’s about trusting my God with every area of my life and walking in obedience to Him. It’s about ME! When I don’t read my bible, when I don’t love, when I don’t serve it’s my disobedience and no one else. But I also know that when I do read my bible I get a NEW glimpse of who my Jesus is, I learn how to be like Him, love like Him and what step to take next in Him. I am realizing it’s not about becoming self-righteous it is about falling in love with Jesus with your whole heart and embracing righteousness through that love and surrender. I spoke this past weekend at a retreat center and I made new friendships and laughed a lot. I saw a spider that could single handily eat me in one gulp!! But more than anything I walked away with a new passion for what God has called me to do! Share truth and freedom. I spoke with them about operating in your spiritual gift, about passion and lastly I talked about Ezekiel and the land of dry bones. So many of us are waiting to hear from God on a prayer you have prayed for years and that’s why you have become dry. Or maybe it’s a constant state of brokenness you continue to find yourself in and now you are among the dry bones. My most favorite part of the entire chapter is this…Ezekiel 37:5 5 This is what the Sovereign LORD says: Look! I am going to put breath into you and make you live again! He wants to breathe new life into you. In my own life there were times I have tried to re-fuel a passion and before I knew it I would be back into a place of numbness or brokenness. I finally realized that I was trying to ignite who I USED to be and I would hang on to my past, my fears and my failures. God said when Jesus came into my life I was NEW creation. I had to fully embrace that I was new before I ever really began to grasp who He created me to be. Now that Halloween is approaching I see skeletons now everywhere I go and I think of the valley of dry bones. It’s time to take your skeleton heart and allow God to put a new heart of flesh inside of you! Ezekiel 36:26 says 26 And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.[b] 27 And I will put my Spirit in you so that you will follow my decrees and be careful to obey my regulations. It is time…..

One thought on “no more skeletons….

  1. Holly…

    Girl, you can’t begin to imagine… You’re gonna hear Ephesians 3:20 at work tomorrow at lunch. I can hardly wait… do you have 3 hours for lunch? perhaps all afternoon?? Let’s pray NOW that God will have me speak what you need to hear in the time frame that we will have tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

