what are you worth?

This week is vacation bible school and each night we have had tons of students.  I love that we do student VBS! We make it cool, fun and relevant to them.  I taught the first night on feeling valued. It made me take a long look at my own life and I reflected on the years of not feeling valued at all.  My cell phone, my car, my make-up  and even my lip gloss (ha) I would be able to survive if I lost them and at the right price I would even give them up.  There is no price tag that I would ever put on my husband or kids because they mean the world to me.  But as I looked back over my life I realized there were  times in my life where I dressed in ways that only a gross perv would like or I would allow boys to talk to me as if  my heart and body had no value whatsoever  and I allowed a lot of people to shape who I was.    Over the past 10 years the process of truly seeing myself through the eyes of Christ has not only given me insight to just how valuable I truly am it has also made me realize the pain and emptiness I felt back then and that girls are going through now. Following my lesson I had 6 different girls want to talk to me and each story left a mark on my heart. From the perfect family scenario, to a foster child to a dad in prison each girl said the same things over and over. “I don’t know who I am and I realized tonight that I don’t feel valued”.  As I prayed for these girls individually I asked God to strip the opinions of others away, to heal wounds that were so deep and to allow these girls to see themselves through His eyes… That is exactly what it took for me. I needed to stop letting the shadows of my past define who I was in Christ because in Him I am free! I am forgiven! I am loved! I am captured! I am valued and I am His MASTERPIECE!  When we look at the most beautiful of sunsets, the most amazing beaches or the most gorgeous sunrises we sit in awe of God’s creation. He spoke those things into existence!  On the flipside of that the very Creator of this creation is in complete awe because He hand crafted each one of us and breathed His life into us!  You are loved!! 🙂

 Psalm 139:13-16 Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out;
      you formed me in my mother’s womb.
   I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking!
      Body and soul, I am marvelously made!
      I worship in adoration—what a creation!
   You know me inside and out,
      you know every bone in my body;
   You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit,
      how I was sculpted from nothing into something.
   Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth;
      all the stages of my life were spread out before you,
   The days of my life all prepared
      before I’d even lived one day.

One thought on “what are you worth?

Leave a Reply

