OUCH

 

This morning on the way to school Rachel and I were talking about all that we were going to be doing in Nashville this weekend.   Then she said the most profound thing to me and I told her I was going to blog about it=) She said “mom you know how a tack feels when you step on it, that’s the way we should feel when we sin”… hmm WOW. I remember when like 13 or so and I was in my back yard and I stepped on a rusted nail and it went through my shoe and into my foot.  Ouch is an understatement! I mean tears upon tears flowed from this face!   I thought about how my sin pierced the very heart of God when he allowed Jesus to be hung on a cross to remove my pain and allow me to no longer carry this burden of it all.  When I got to work this morning I just sat in my car in complete silence. The sun was shining so brightly on this group of trees and it was so powerful and so overwhelming to my eyes I even pulled the sun visor down to block it.  I thought about that statement Rachel had made about sin.  We do what we can to block God’s “light” so to speak from shining on our hearts.  Sin hurts and it festers so deep that once you begin to pull it out it’s not like a tack but more like that rusty old nail that sent me to the emergency room and ended with a stupid shot!  Are you holding on to anything that you need to let go of once and for all? Is there an addiction in your life that is keeping you from living? I am praying that this such profound statement from my 8 year old keeps you and I in the direct sunlight of our God 🙂

Psalm 51:2
Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin

Isaiah 42:16
I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them. 

SHINE today!

Leave a Reply

