take a first step…

This past weekend I went to a Beth Moore Simulcast with a good friend of mine.  I went with the anticipation of getting some great formula that would zap my insecurity and I would walk out of there a new woman.  As we jumped into Ephesians I began to look at how many times the word walk was used.  The word walk in Greek translation means daily conduct. When you walk somewhere you have a destination in mind.  With me I want to arrive in that place of ultimate security and confidence.  This journey has been long and by allowing God to renew my mind daily I take one step closer each day.  I wanted to know I was new and I realized that I didn’t need to become new because the day I surrendered my heart to Jesus I was made new in Him.   2 Corinthians 5:17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!  I am learning that each one of my steps (daily) is leading me to that place!  So many of us still carry around baggage, insecurities, failure, crushed dreams and all sorts if what if’s.  In Ephesians 4:22 it says …You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

My favorite part is TO BE MADE NEW IN THE ATTITUDE OF YOUR MIND.  Think about waking up in the morning with eye nasty, hair all over your head, STANKY breath and maybe a hint of BO GROSS right? But when you have had your shower, brushed your teeth, sprayed that body spray and dressed in your clothes for the day you feel so much better and refreshed.  Every sin and our insecurities starts within our minds. Paul said take EVERY thought captive! We must allow our minds to be renewed DAILY.  When we are walking in the direction of our Father we are walking away of who we use to be. We are FREE, and we need to stop living as if we aren’t.  What is keeping you from embracing your purpose? In order to embrace something it means you have to let go of something else. There are things in my own life that I need to let go of…what about you?

Holly:)

One thought on “take a first step…

  1. Im in this walk to complete Freedom as well! It definitely has to be a mindset that you give those thoughts of insecurity over to the Lord every day!

Leave a Reply

