stop performing…

Growing up I competed in many clogging competitions and pageants.  I was driven by performance. If I won than my day was filled with happiness and floating on cloud nine. If I came in 2nd then I would beat myself up the entire day and I would play it over and over in my head of what I could have done better. I have realized everything we do is performance driven even in our walk with Christ. Our performance seems to be the driving force to whether we are happy or not.   Throughout my walk with Christ I have carried unnecessary guilt around.  If I would miss a day of reading my bible the guilt would eat at me and I would look back and a week would have been lost!  We act as if there is a formula or check list that will bring about this great spiritual performance. God loves you, period. There is nothing you can or can’t do to make Him love you less.  His love pours over your brokenness to restore you and to make you whole.   Righteousness is something all Christ followers are given through salvation. Romans 4:3  For what does the Scripture say?Abraham believed God,and it was credited to him for righteousness. I looked up the word Righteousness in the dictionary and one of the definitions said FREE from guilt. I thought back to my performances growing up and when I didn’t win I felt what…GUILT. God wants to you know that you are His and that He loves you unconditionally!  Romans 8:1  there is NO condemnation IN Christ Jesus….

(The Message) Romans 4: 1-3 So how do we fit what we know of Abraham, our first father in the faith, into this new way of looking at things? If Abraham, by what he did for God, got God to approve him, he could certainly have taken credit for it. But the story we’re given is a God-story, not an Abraham-story. What we read in Scripture is, “Abraham entered into what God was doing for him, and that was the turning point. He trusted God to set him right instead of trying to be right on his own.” 

Holly=)

PS: that is me on the far right..with the big hair

3 thoughts on “stop performing…

  1. This is the problem most Christians have. To much of “I’ll do it!” instead of “Christ will do it through me.” ME is secondary. ME gets me in problems all the time.

Leave a Reply

