Remove it…

I spoke at a youth conference this past Saturday and before I walked on stage  my heart was  pounding so hard in my chest I thought when I walked on that stage these  people were going to see my heart jumping out of my chest.  I prayed over and over again God fill me with You.  When it was my cue I walked on stage and as I began to speak a complete calm came over me and I have never felt so alive!! God has given me such a desire to speak and the more inadequate I feel it’s as if God speaks truth into my heart and silences my fears. I am so overwhelmed at what He is up to and yet scared out of my mind! I think the most amazing thing is just trusting with complete abandon and waiting on His perfect timing!  I use to measure my success by other people standards and I would always come up short and when I began to embrace the freedom I have in Christ that measuring stick went into the trash can.  I want to be who God created me to be. I said I want to be….. I fight the demons of self image daily and I win at times and other times the devil pins me down. I am learning what it means to take EVERY thought captive and know that when I am facing the enemy in the end I will win because I am FREE 🙂 I have been recently reading in Joshua and last night I came across a passage that made me think about how many times I have ended up in the hands of the enemy and asked God what in the world went wrong????? 

Joshua 7: 12 that is why the Israelites cannot stand against their enemies; they turn their backs and run because they have been made liable to destruction. I will not be with you anymore unless you destroy whatever among you is devoted to destruction. 13 “Go, consecrate the people. Tell them, ‘consecrate yourselves in preparation for tomorrow; for this is what the LORD, the God of Israel, says: That which is devoted is among you, O Israel. You cannot stand against your enemies until you remove it.

Removing things in our hearts that will lead to destruction is a painful process.  Since January I have been on a journey to losing weight and even deeper than that overcoming my addiction to food. I had taken God off the throne and replaced it with the food for many years.  I have begged God for at least 12 years to help me lose this weight and it wasn’t until I began to surrender every thought, every urge, every feeling every need to Him that I began to feel victory in this area. It was admitting it and then surrendering it to my Father in Heaven. I have lost weight weekly now and I have gone down one size so far. I am claiming victory but like the Israelites I had to remove the things I was devoted to… What needs to be removed from your heart in order for you to claim victory over your enemies? Giants in your life?

3 thoughts on “Remove it…

  1. Great post, I totally agree with the statement you made about removed things from our hearts that can lead to destruction.

    I was wondering if you would like to contribute this post and possibly other like it to our resource library (www.calledtoyouthministry.com). We’re connecting with youth workers and pastors all over the world and encouraging each other to make this a little bit smoother for them.

    Shoot me an e-mail with your response,
    -Taylor (tclyde52@gmail.com)

  2. Holly! Your amazing and I miss you! Your blogs help me so much and I wanna be so on fire for God! So many people are turning from their faith and it’s killing me and I think it’s because they arnt fully surendered to God. I no I stil hold things back and have a lot of growing to do but just wanted to say I enjoy reading your blogs and they help me a lot! Love you! 🙂

    Logan Ballard

Leave a Reply

