but on HIS shoulders…..

My phone is broken (AGAIN) so on the way to work this morning I turned my music up loud and I began to notice how many churches I was passing. I am talking at least 10 just in a few miles. Some were right across the street from each other. I looked up and noticed the steeples of each church. Behind each cross was the back drop of the most beautiful blue crystal clear sky. I was listening to Francesca’s Free to be song and the lyrics of the song are… “Cause I got a couple dents in my fender Got a couple rips in my jeans Try to fit the pieces together But perfection is my enemy On my own I’m so clumsy But on Your shoulders I can see I’m free to be me” I had never really heard “But on Your shoulders I can see” I started thinking about how kids love being on the shoulders of an adult. When they are at parades, or concerts they want to be able to see clearly. When I heard that line of the song I began to think about standing on the shoulders of my creator. I am able to see past all the junk that gets in my way of seeing His plan clearly. When I was looking at each steeple I didn’t notice the structure of the buildings, nor the denomination or what this week’s sermon was I simply saw the cross. . In my own life I notice my failures, my imperfections, my doubts, my looks and they seem to get in the way of me seeing but when I am standing on the shoulders of God I can only see what He sees =)  so….what’s in your way?

Philippians 3:15 So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.

One thought on “but on HIS shoulders…..

  1. Thank you for your post! The illustration of a child on a parent’s shoulders was one that has never occured to me. I would love it if you would check out my blog and let me know what you think,
    Blessings!

Leave a Reply

