you can forget me walking up that mountain…

I don’t know if you have ever been to Ridgecrest NC. There is the most GINORMOUS hill to hike up! The top is breath taking and you can feel the presence of God. It’s quiet and peaceful and you see miles of His creation but… I HATE walking up it! I have tried and given up, I have tried and almost made it and then I would give up lay down and pray for someone to drive by.  I came across a quote this morning by Rebecca Barlow Jordan that simply says this “God sometimes moves mountains one pebble at a time”. I thought about how long so many people in my life have dealt with their own “mountains” including myself.  Struggles seem to fuel our weaknesses and keep us on our face more than on our feet. I was up last night preparing for our PB&J event that is this weekend. I will be speaking to the moms/leaders and I was looking over what I was going to be sharing and in the midst of that He took me to 2 Corinthians and also Galatians and I read over and over about God’s freedom and His power in the midst of our weakness.  Pretty much my entire life I was trying to paint this perception of perfection. I never wanted to appear broken in any way.  I had to finally grasp that when God looked at me He saw the blood of Jesus covering me and that is perfection. In Him I find grace, forgiveness, redemption and NO CONDEMENATION! (Romans 8:1) Don’t let your past or your current circumstances choke the very life out of you.  Ecclesiastes 3:11 says “He has made EVERYthing BEAUTIFUL in its time.”

2 Corinthians 12:9  (The Message) My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
   My strength comes into its own in your weakness.
Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of Christ’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, these limitations that cut me down to size—abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.

4 thoughts on “you can forget me walking up that mountain…

  1. So true Holly!! This is something I struggle with off and on, the feeling that I have to have this “perfect” image since I am a Christian and to let no one to see my faults or my hurts b/c they may think I am a “bad” Christian! But God wants us to be REAL and to depend on Him like you said in our weakness!!!! I am still searching for that complete FREEDOM in Christ to not have that condemnation when I am not “perfect” in some area! Praying we can all have that complete FREEDOM!!!

Leave a Reply

