What’s your Jerusalem?

When I was in high school my house caught on fire and we pretty much lost everything.  That was one of the hardest things I have ever had to deal with as a teenager.   I remember the emotions that flooded my mind constantly “what about my clothes” “what will people say about me”.  I also remember how people gathered around us to help us rebuild our lives. I taught last night out of Nehemiah and as I read the prayer to rebuild Jerusalem I could feel the desperation and compassion that he carried.  God placed a vision in his heart to rebuild the wall and provided protection around him. He just had to embrace it and move forward in complete obedience. It even says he was very much afraid to go before the king but he did it! I asked the students to think about what their Jerusalem might be. Their schools?  Their families?  Their own hearts?  Many students wept before God because of brokenness in their own lives or people around them. I was moved by both their compassion for others as well as their willingness to be cleansed.   I have learned from my own life that through my brokenness, desperation and pain growth occured. Nehemiah mourned and wept before God because he felt their pain in his heart. I want to SEE people as Jesus did and be moved to action, and not stand at a distance and watch “their city”  end in ashes.  I am praying that God will choose to use me as an instrument of change and offer hope in the midst of brokenness.   Who can you be Nehemiah to this week? Look for fire and smoke and run with passion!  What’s your Jerusalem?….It’s time to rebuild!

 Nehemiah 2  17 Then I said to them, “You see the trouble we are in: Jerusalem lies in ruins, and its gates have been burned with fire. Come, let us rebuild the wall of Jerusalem, and we will no longer be in disgrace.” 18 I also told them about the gracious hand of my God upon me and what the king had said to me. They replied, “Let us start rebuilding.” So they began this good work.

Leave a Reply

