what are you going be?

How many of you are dressing up for Halloween?  All I keep hearing is “what are rebekahyou going to be”.  Both of my girls dressed up pretty much every day the entire first 5 years of their lives.  Last year I remember walking outside on the porch and as I went down the stairs Rebekah calls out “STOP you are about to fall into the water” I didn’t see any water but I thought I would step back up on the step just in case.  Rebekah was dressed from head to toe like Elizabeth Swann from Pirates of the Caribbean and she was on a ship (our front tree) and Rachel was a princess and she was in her castle (the other tree).  They yelled in their pirate/princess voices “the evil pirates were on their way to capture them and I better go back inside”.  Their imagination and dress up took them away.  When we choose our outfits for Halloween I mean costume parties (I go to a Baptist Church) we tend to become that character.  A few weeks ago we made a trip to Party City to look at all the costumes. Rebekah was dead set on being Michael Jackson and Rachel was set on being a Spanish dancer. They tried their costumes on and BAM one was talking with an accent and the other was doing MJ dance moves.  They both wanted to try on new costumes so back into the dressing room we went with two different costumes. It was an immediate transaction. Rebekah was now Cleopatra and Rachel a runway diva model.  They wanted to play the part of each costume/person they had chosen.  I thought about how back in college I gave my life to Christ and yet there are days I don’t play the part. I get mad, I don’t pursue Him and yet He allows me to represent Him. I have seen so many people spend so much time saying things AGAINST Halloween night and I get the whole demon/evil thing.  I just like to look at it as being a LIGHT in the darkness….so what are  you going to be?

 

Ephesians 5:1-2 Imitate God, therefore, in everything you do, because you are his dear children2 Live a life filled with love, following the example of Christ. He loved us[a] and offered himself as a sacrifice for us, a pleasing aroma to God.

 

7 thoughts on “what are you going be?

  1. I don’t know what I shall be yet 🙂
    but I do know that I love love love your passion for God and how you use it to relate it to everyday things all the time.

    I think Halloween is a fun way to dress up as something silly. I guess I look at it the same I look at how I read Harry Potter. I know what is right and what is wrong. I know what is real and what isn’t

  2. I will be dressed as myself because I am thinking I might have to do job number 1 on Halloween (I teach at two colleges as an adjunct and do ad change in the grocery stores – looking forward to one full time position in 2010 in Nashville – praying God opens a door for me). But if I do get home early enough to give out some candy I think I will throw on my OU shirt and my Texas Longhorn pajama bottoms and be a confused fan lol

  3. loved it…I am so excited about what we are going to be…I sure hope there is a prize cause we will win…hahaha…and I love how your kids always get into the spirit of each season…dressing up for everything. It is sad that Rebekah is getting older and doesn’t want to wear all the festive clothes like Rachel…but I love it 🙂

  4. Wow, this might turn out to be a long comment. 🙂

    Lots of churches and Christians take an issue with Halloween. Indeed, there are many aspects which celebrate and uplifting evil. We should stay away from all appearances of evil. Thus, churches have “Harvest Festivals” and Bible games…and there’s nothing wrong with any of that.

    What concerns me is when we sometimes literally or figuratively as a Body of Believers or individuals turn out the lights and hide from the world on Halloween instead of sharing His love. What a great opportunity to witness!

    I’ve also been on multiple paranormal investigations as a television producer. To me, these are opportunities to love people who are fearful and hurting. It’s so easy to rush in and say “these are demons – repent!” and not really listen to people…to understand why they’re fearful…or why they’re accepting of the situation.

    We focus so much energy on being holy and being in the world and not of it, that we become so heavenly minded that we’re of no earthly good.

    Let’s not forget that this is the one time a year that kids can have make believe with their friends and get candy. But also let’s never forget there’s scarier things than Halloween ghosts and ghouls haunting people and keeping them from knowing a loving and almighty God.

Leave a Reply

