heart size cookie cutter = )

a019dd54f44df936c40bc6dca0106509-origThis past weekend I visited my sister and her family in Carthage NC.   We had a great time just staying around the house.  After cleaning out her closets (she is PREGNANT) and carving pumpkins we then decided to make cookies.  My niece is 3 and she loves cooking!  We decided to make MY favorite cookies (oatmeal chocolate chip).  Rylee wanted to do it all by herself so I let her….she cracked the egg and then added the butter (never measured once) she then picked up the spoon and tasted the dough and said “mmmm it is soooo good”  in her sweet voice.   I keep hearing these words lately “press into God”. I thought about the action of actually pressing into something. You apply pressure you lean and put your strength into it because you are focused on it.  I have discovered that when you hear something over and over I can almost promise it’s usually God trying to get our attention about something. Think about cookie cutters, you roll the dough out and you PRESS INTO the dough to cut away the excess dough in order to create the shape of your cookie cutter.  Just like Rylee added more chocolate chips than the recipe called for, or butter and even a piece of shell or two. We put things in our own lives that at some point need to be picked out or cut away.   God wants to cut away all the worry and all of the doubts, and all of the junk that keeps me from becoming who I am created to be. I am in the midst of pursuing a dream and honestly I am scared to death but deep down I know that as I PRESS INTO Him, He will cut away all the fear that creeps in my mind. I am often my own worst enemy and I know how I allow thoughts to penetrate my heart. What if we could pick up a heart size shape cookie cutter and allow God to press into us what would be peel away from our hearts?

Isaiah 64:8  Yet, O LORD, you are our Father.
       We are the clay, you are the potter;
       we are all the work of your hand.

Psalm 139:14&   23/24

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;  test me and know my anxious thoughts. 24 See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

3 thoughts on “heart size cookie cutter = )

Leave a Reply

