He MAKES me……

In Sunday School yesterday we were studying the 23rd Psalm. I have read that Psalm I believe more than any other Psalm. Pretty much any Christian bookstore you go into you are going to see this Psalm posted or printed. I read it yesterday and God showed me this…..

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.

2 He makes me lie down in green pastures,
       he leads me beside quiet waters,

 3 he restores my soul.
       He guides me in paths of righteousness
       for his name’s sake.

 4 Even though I walk
       through the valley of the shadow of death, [a]
       I will fear no evil,
       for you are with me;
       your rod and your staff,
       they comfort me.

 5 You prepare a table before me
       in the presence of my enemies.
       You anoint my head with oil;
       my cup overflows.

6 Surely goodness and love will follow me
       all the days of my life,
       and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
       forever

Not only does He provide for me, restores me, and guides me He also MAKES me lie down. Think about how full our schedules can be. Dance and sports keep us running all over the place. Then you add grocery shopping, church, meetings etc and you are booked.  This past week I struggled with studying the word. I looked at verses and prayed but I didn’t hear God speak to me. I have been praying ALL week “God I need to hear Your voice” I am thirsty for You.  I realized that following God isn’t about a feeling at all.  If I don’t feel passionate  that  doesn’t mean I am NOT in love with Jesus, or if I don’t feel all these gushy feelings inside it doesn’t mean I am not in the will of God.  Finally yesterday when I we were reading through this Psalm I saw the words GOD MAKES me lie down…He has to MAKE me stop and allow Him to  move the extra noise in my life to hear him. I have stumbled through prayers this week (falling asleep) and thinking about all that I had to do. It was all good stuff, and things that will honor God but it wasn’t just me and Him. (ALONE) I have discovered that I need that time with Him.  Last  night I was finishing up with my lesson a couple hours before church and  I just sat in the office and I laid my head on the desk and said “God I just want to sit with you right now and say nothing” and that’s exactly what I did. For several minutes I just sat in complete silence and the presence of God was overwhelming. The song Shane and Shane (Be Near) came to my mind and this line touched my soul.

And wonderful to trust in grace through faith
But I’m asking to taste~
For dark is light to you
Depths are height to you
Far is near,
but Lord I need to hear from you

Honestly my life isn’t very busy.  Mondays/Tuesdays/Fridays are usually free nights at our house. Wednesday is church and Thursday we have dance. Now you think I would have all this time to just sit at the feet of Jesus.  I think what happens to so many people (including myself) we may be busy or not so busy but when things are gliding along and life is happening we often take out the very GLUE that holds it together…JESUS 🙂 that doesn’t mean you don’t love Him or want and desire to serve Him. But daily routines of getting kids ready and to school, and then work and then picking kids up from school, housework, cooking dinner, family time, dance, church stuff….you can see how easy it is to lose Him in the mix and HE MAKES you lie down…He desires to be near. Take time today to just sit in His presence and understand that HE WANTS TO SPEAK TO YOU AND BE NEAR YOU!

Leave a Reply

