whats that smell?

Last night Rebekah went to church with Ashley to work on some stuff  so Richard decided to take Rachel on a walk  to the park. Our dog sir scrappy lick a lot the happy beast (Scrappy for short) needed some exercise and so he went along too. I put some towels in the washing machine yesterday morning and yep you guessed forgot about them until after supper. I put opened the lid and OMG the mildew smell about knocked me down. Now I thought to myself hmmm I have only a little detergent left so I will just put extra dryer sheets in the dryer and that will surely get the smell out. I turned it up on HIGH and away they went.  When Rachel came in from her walk she was sweating and I told her to grab a towel out of the dryer and to get in the bathtub.  She proceeded….She gets out of the bathtub 30 minutes later and she walks down the hall wrapped in her towel and said “mommy every where I go I smell a stinky gross smell” I bend down and IT WAS THE TOWEL!!!!!!! So needless to say I had to run the washing machine two more times to get the stink out! I thought I was saving money by covering it up with a few bounce sheets!!

I thought about a line from Facing the Giants..

“Your attitude is like the aroma of your heart. If your attitude stinks, it means your heart’s not right,”

I was reading in Matthew 12: 33″Make a tree good and its fruit will be good, or make a tree bad and its fruit will be bad, for a tree is recognized by its fruit. 34You brood of vipers, how can you who are evil say anything good? For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks. 35The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in him, and the evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in him

Just like I couldn’t hide the smell of those towels…Our attitudes also can’t hide what is really in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

