the parent trap….goose bumps and all!

 Last night the new 7th graders moved into FOCUS (our student ministry).  They came in with big smiles and most were very nervous. They each had their bibles and sat on the first or second row.  They participated in worship and even opened their bibles right off the bat as we jumped into scripture!  My daughter (Rebekah) is one of those 7th graders and I was so nervous because I was teaching and I didn’t know how she would respond nor did I  know what would come out of my mouth because I often use my children as examples. I think I only used her like once so that was a relief.  I was standing at the back during worship and she was singing her little heart out and by the third song her hands were raised and she was worshiping! OH I can’t even describe the feeling I had. I think that gave me that boost right before I got up to teach. Afterwards she would not BE QUIET about how much she loved it and she can’t wait to be there again on Wednesday.   I taught out of 1 Samuel.  Earlier last week I had been twittering and ran across a verse in 1 Samuel and didn’t really think much about it. I was sitting at my desk and as I was working  I felt as if God was saying to me GO READ IT….and I didn’t know where to even start or what in fact He wanted me to read. So I picked up my bible with a shrug and a loud OK under my breath and opened it up and my marker was on 1 Samuel chapter 21. I begin reading it and I was like God am I at the right chapter? I read it over and over and pretty much got nothing. I shut the bible and said ok, I read it now what?? Later that afternoon I left to go get Rachel from school and I was turning the corner and it began to just pour into my spirit. It was one of those moments like off the original parent trap when they figure out they are sisters…goose bumps and all! I knew that God was speaking right to me.  It said the following…

1 Samuel 21: 8 David asked Ahimelech, “Don’t you have a spear or a sword here? I haven’t brought my sword or any other weapon, because the king’s business was urgent.” 9 The priest replied, “The sword of Goliath the Philistine, whom you killed in the Valley of Elah, is here; it is wrapped in a cloth behind the ephod. If you want it, take it; there is no sword here but that one.”  David said, “There is none like it; give it to me.”

I realized in that moment that the GIANT in my life that I have struggled with has also been put to death. I fought it for so long and I refused to let it win! I chose to see it as way to bring God glory and to also experience freedom…although it keeps me weak at times and often haunts me I know that HIS GRACE IS SUFFICIENT FOR ME AND IN MY WEAKNESS HIS POWER IS  MADE PERFECT!! That’s what keeps the giant down…but think about this,  David is asking for a weapon and (he is unarmed) the only sword available was the GIANTS in which he defeated! I thought about UNBOUND and how God has called me to GO and to share my story and to pour into the lives of every girl I come in contact with. What weapon do I use? Of course  the very one that my giant used against me! MY SELF IMAGE! God wants me to trust Him, to find my confidence in Him ALONE! I truly believe that when you begin to embrace that IN Him you have full confidence and you can approach the throne with expectancy and your prayers begin to change, your circumstances begin to change and your responses begin to change, and your lifestyle begins to reflect it as well. Today as you face the giant know that you have overcome it in Christ, but take it one step further. Take the very sword of the giant and USE IT FOR GOD’s GLORY:)

1 John 5: 14This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.

2 Corinthians 12:9

9But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

 

Love those “parent trap” moments….

www.unboundministry.com using the sword!

Holly:)

Leave a Reply

