so over it…

Have you ever been so over something that it made you soooo mad when you saw it again, or heard it again or even experienced it?  I think about growing up and having all these crushes and boyfriends whom you knew you loved!  (even in elementary school) and  how when you broke up they suddenly went from I LOVE  them to being totally  repulsed by their presence. Then moving to high school and you begin looking back at middle school its suddenly a joke because one summer can  make you feel older and wise then anyone “back” there. You then move on to college or work and suddenly you look back at high school as just a glimpse of your past.  You cross your fingers with the hope you don’t run into anyone because you fear you won’t remember names.  I was just sitting her thinking about so many things and how we often are given second chances to prove ourselves or move forward as new seasons come into our lives. God has offered complete and unconditional grace to us and yet we often limit how much we give out to others. We look past the cross and see ourselves and our selfish gain. How will this help or hurt me? How will I gain from this? I don’t know where it suddenly goes wrong.  I think back to my childhood and how I hurt so many people because they didn’t fit into my agenda or mold of how I thought things should or would turn out. Even as a child we make decisions on how things will be best for ourselves rather then others. I am learning this even through my own children. If I ask Rebekah to pick up something it’s usually “but…it’s not mine” I mean it would take her getting off the couch to do it (wouldn’t want her to get tired).  I also look in the mirror so many times and ask God to change me. I beg to lose weight, or change who I am …and then I ask myself for what? I mean really for what?  It’s to make me feel better about who I am in the environments and social circles I am in. I think we have to get to a point that we GET OVER OURSELVES in order to see and become who Christ created us to be.  God has our hearts and He has our circumstances under control and the future isn’t to be viewed as “Hit me with your best shot” its seeking God with all you have and RUNNING to Him no matter what. Being so over yourself that you have no room for your agenda!  When you push the things that keep you from Jesus out then it just opens that much more room in your heart for His love, His grace, His mercy and HIS TIMING.  Just a thought….

Holly:)

Psalm 119:36 Turn my heart toward your statutes
       and not toward selfish gain.

Philippians 2:  1-4If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.  

www.unboundministry.com embracing my passion:)

4 thoughts on “so over it…

  1. “If you’ve gotten anything out of following Christ” that is such an oxymoron! The point is “Duh! My life is blessed and helped and I’ve survived thus far because of HIM and only Him. So, trust God enough to let Him take care of my needs through my own obedience to helping other meet their needs.”
    LOVE U CUZ!!

  2. Wow. So glad to have found you and your blog. I feel very excited to go through and read your blog until I read everything in your archives! I have a sixteen year old daughter and a six year old daughter. And, hey…I see you’re friends now with my friend Pam Case. We used to do ministry together in Nashville…Now our family has moved back to our home town in Mississippi. My hubbie is a church staffer, too. So, anyhoo: Hello! Looking forward to reading.

    God bless you and your UNBOUND ministry!
    May He continue to fill you to the overflow!

    In Christ Jesus!
    Tracey Sims Malone

  3. Hey Holly!

    Great post. This post actually falls very much inline with a post that my wife (@becomingkelly) wrote about on her blog. I encourage you to check her most recent post and also listen to the embedded audio that she references in her post. The post can be found at – http://www.becomingkelly.com/2009/08/31/forgiveness/

    As for my testimony please read my blog at – http://www.domingorogers.com and search under “prayer” You can find my story under “Why did the fox cross the road?”

    Thank you again for sharing and may God richly bless you those that your ministry touches!

    Domingo

Leave a Reply

