Who is God to you?

🙂 I have been thinking a lot about all my friends that are really going through some tough stuff right now. Some are financial, some are going through some relationship issues and some are just in a season of brokenness.  I hurt for them because I want nothing more than to take their burdens away. That led me to think about how our view of God reflects how we talk to Him and it also affects how we view the tough circumstances in our lives. For me I saw God for so long as a father who would leave me when I messed up, or who be so ashamed of me or even so disappointed in my constant failures. I viewed my Heavenly Father as my earthly father. My dad left when I was 7 and the way I looked at him distorted my view of God.  This Saturday it will be 11 years since he was killed and I miss him so bad! I wish I could tell him all the things I know now. But more than anything I would ask him about his salvation and speak up about how God has changed my world! 3 or 4 days before he was killed I was only a few days from graduating college and we talked for hours on the phone. I told him I had forgiven him and that I loved him so when he did die I didn’t carry any guilt of that but I never asked him about his love for Jesus! Time is so precious and we allow our circumstances to cloud our intentions of reaching out to others.  We think God can’t handle our lives so we take Him out of the equation. Psalm 15 says WE WILL NOT BE SHAKEN! When we are so rooted in Jesus nothing can knock us down permanently or keep us from seeing HIM in the midst of it all. Today I am praying for the girl who has messed up and needs forgiveness God is waiting with arms opened to embrace you and make you whole again! In Ephesians 1 it says we were CHOSEN 🙂 I promise you have a purpose! We allow our past and failures to dictate our future and God is saying I have chosen you to be mine…YOU WERE CHOSEN BY THE CREATOR OF THIS UNIVERSE! Maybe you are a in a place of brokenness, a place of questioning where to go next, or a place of pain, or you just feel empty! God is the healer, the guidance, the teacher, the redeemer, the hope, the giver of life and so much more! Last night I asked the seniors to stand up and I asked then to tell me who God was to them right now. Some said He is their peace or He is their guidance in the midst of graduating and fear of going to college.  I loved how Tori described it she said that to her right now God “was her gardener”….because He is pruning away the areas of her life that are keeping her from growing! That is so good! I encourage you to look at how you view God right now and know that He is able to accomplish way more than we could ever imagine! So as you leave comments answer this…Who is God to you right where you are…….

Love to all:) Holly<><

Psalm 15 

1 LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary?
       Who may live on your holy hill?

 2 He whose walk is blameless
       and who does what is righteous,
       who speaks the truth from his heart

 3 and has no slander on his tongue,
       who does his neighbor no wrong
       and casts no slur on his fellowman,

 4 who despises a vile man
       but honors those who fear the LORD,
       who keeps his oath
       even when it hurts,

 5 who lends his money without usury
       and does not accept a bribe against the innocent.
       He who does these things
       will never be shaken.

 

Ephesians 1:44For He chose us in Him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in His sight. In love 5He[c] predestined us to be adopted as His sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with His pleasure and will

Leave a Reply

