setting the standard….

Have you ever noticed all the pictures in Cracker Barrel  or any other place that has older pictures from way back when…NOone smiles and there is no laughter, or what appears to be happiness in their lives. The pictures that I cherish the most of my girls are the ones where their necks are tilted back and they are laughing so hard they are about to collapse. A picture always takes you back to that moment. The smell, the weather, and the circumstances you might have been in at that time.  Even now its only been 7 months since my sweet mother in law passed away. I miss her more each day and I wish so badly I could just talk to her and soak up her wisdom.  This past week Rebekah started crying because she said she realized that she will never get to see her new glasses.  We got out her memory box and we just talked about the different pictures and I just hugged Rebekah and encouraged her to really embrace those memories and to apply all that Janice had taught her over the years. I love looking at old pictures and talking about them, there is such joy in memories. As Christ followers we tend to only want to move forward and never look back to where we once were, because the fear of being judged or even shut out! I love when people peel back the layers and truly expose who they are underneath. FOCUS is a student ministry at our church that has begun setting the standard in a lot of areas. I think adults sometimes expect them to make dumb decisions and not be “spiritual”. I always encourage the students not to be a robot.  We need to stop allowing our parents, peers,teachers, media and others programming in us who they want us to be. Think about it A robot is programmed by someone who controls its every move.  I was controlled by all of those  growing up and never really understood, or identified with anyone other than those around me, or who my mom expected me to be. These past 7 years with FOCUS, has taught me so much about myself, and also about the “re-programming” that needs to go on in the minds of these students. As Christ followers our only concern should be about glorifing God, being humble, meeting others right where they are, loving them unconditionally and serving God with all our hearts! LOVE….God is LOVE:) When we line up under Him and His authority none of the “legalistic” junk seems to matter anymore. “no hats, pull your pants up,cut your hair,too much make-up, shirt too low,overweight,not worth it,bad grades……” this is what is being programmed into the minds of students everywhere! .FOCUS is such an amazing group of students I mean students who are SOLD OUT, and ready to set the standard for those to follow. Our theme for our church last year was “will you LET GOD BE GOD” But when you think of that really hard, can you? will you? That is saying I no longer want control of my life…. Honestly, that is what makes GOD known..when we allow Him to move us out of the way and just be real, and genuine before others. When we open up our hearts…we are allowing others to get a true glimpse of who we really are and we are also setting the standard for others to follow. This world is in need of some major changes! Christians are blowing it daily because of pride, and being set in their “old” ways….its time for Christ followers to rise up and set a new standard. That doesn’t mean to model their friends, their parents, their teachers…but JESUS CHRIST HIMSELF! He loved, He restored, He showed us just how to live our lives. He wasn’t self righteous, but self-LESS, He wasn’t programmed by others….NO HE SET THE STANDARD FOR OTHERS! Let go of caring, there is so much freedom in that! Remember the saying…”LET GO AND LET GOD” hmmmm thats giving up, and allowing God to do something over the top in your life and then moving forward to set a standard…I mean set HIS standard! Get lost in Him<><HOlly

Don’t let other people affect who you are in Christ, because one day you will stand before God without those people and none of that will even matter……

Jeremiah 18:1-4

This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord: 2.”Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3. So I went down to the potter’s house and I saw him working at the wheel. 4But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping as seemed best to him.

Leave a Reply

