Silence………..

This morning it was still dark outside so I layed in bed an HOUR more! Yes I got up finally around 6:45. I always remember how sluggish I feel for the first several weeks of the time change and we GAIN an hour! Go figure. I had my quiet time this morning after everyone left the house. My mom comes and gets Rebekah for me because its so hard to have Rachel up and fed and ready by 7:35. Her bell rings at 8:15 and Rebekah’s is 7:45……So after I got out of the shower got dressed, and grabbed my coffee (3rd cup) I sat on my bed and began to pray for people in my life, my frienships, my family, my circumstances and the future of UNBOUND. As I prayed I realized how everyone of the prayers I was offering up were in need of somthing different. Peace, or healing, or for God to just move, or patience, or money problems, or God’s calling, my purpose, Richard’s grief…..as I just sat there in God’s presence it was so quiet, complete silence. I love those moments….. As I opened my Bible I begin to read in Luke chapter 1….

5 When Herod was king of Judea, there was a Jewish priest named Zechariah. He was a member of the priestly order of Abijah, and his wife, Elizabeth, was also from the priestly line of Aaron. 6 Zechariah and Elizabeth were righteous in God’s eyes, careful to obey all of the Lord’s commandments and regulations. 7 They had no children because Elizabeth was unable to conceive, and they were both very old.  8 One day Zechariah was serving God in the Temple, for his order was on duty that week. 9 As was the custom of the priests, he was chosen by lot to enter the sanctuary of the Lord and burn incense. 10 While the incense was being burned, a great crowd stood outside, praying.  11 While Zechariah was in the sanctuary, an angel of the Lord appeared to him, standing to the right of the incense altar. 12 Zechariah was shaken and overwhelmed with fear when he saw him. 13 But the angel said, “Don’t be afraid, Zechariah! God has heard your prayer. Your wife, Elizabeth, will give you a son, and you are to name him John. 14 You will have great joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth, 15 for he will be great in the eyes of the Lord. He must never touch wine or other alcoholic drinks. He will be filled with the Holy Spirit, even before his birth.[b] 16 And he will turn many Israelites to the Lord their God. 17 He will be a man with the spirit and power of Elijah. He will prepare the people for the coming of the Lord. He will turn the hearts of the fathers to their children,[c] and he will cause those who are rebellious to accept the wisdom of the godly.” 18 Zechariah said to the angel, “How can I be sure this will happen? I’m an old man now, and my wife is also well along in years.” 19 Then the angel said, “I am Gabriel! I stand in the very presence of God. It was he who sent me to bring you this good news! 20 But now, since you didn’t believe what I said, you will be silent and unable to speak until the child is born. For my words will certainly be fulfilled at the proper time.” 21 Meanwhile, the people were waiting for Zechariah to come out of the sanctuary, wondering why he was taking so long. 22 When he finally did come out, he couldn’t speak to them. Then they realized from his gestures and his silence that he must have seen a vision in the sanctuary.  23 When Zechariah’s week of service in the Temple was over, he returned home. 24 Soon afterward his wife, Elizabeth, became pregnant and went into seclusion for five months. 25 “How kind the Lord is!” she exclaimed. “He has taken away my disgrace of having no children.”

I was blown away by this passage. I thought to myself, you big dummy you were in the presence of GOD and this angel is saying to you THIS WILL HAPPEN..and you question God’s power? HELLO! But as I begin to bash away, I have remembered times in my life where I stood before God with complete surrender and asking Him to move, and when He did…I didn’t! But the part that pierced my heart this morning is that He was silenced. I thought ok so women are pregnant for 9 months and she wasn’t even pregnant yet! WOW really almost a complete year of not speaking about all that God is doing in your life, or being able to tell others about Him. and again……I have been silent! I have let my busy schedule silence me, I have let fear silence me, I have let my impatience with God’s timing silence me! ugggh I am not liking this! I have let years pass without ever speaking up! I am so sorry God for not speaking your name with my actions, and my words! God is doing a work in my life! What I mean by that is that I have never been more passionate about fulfilling God’s purpose in my life, I want NOTHING more than to be used by Him. But I have to STOP trying to figure out how, and when etc and just TRUST HIM! Give it all I have, and during the waiting period I must SERVE Him, I must PRAISE Him, I must LISTEN to Him, I must OBEY Him, I must PURSUE Him (my one word) I am pursuing! God thank you for your word…it completes me:)

Get lost IN Him……Holly

One thought on “Silence………..

  1. Wow! This passage has left me feeling like I got a spiritual spanking! (That I deserved) I realized this morning when I was praying, I pray my prayers void of the expectation I once had. What’s the point?? There is none. God is mighty. God is a warrior. God can do and wants to do more in our life than we can imagine. If we don’t believe it though, it doesn’t matter to our individual lives. I’m ready to believe-again, hope-again, wait expectantly-again.

    Praying for us all.

Leave a Reply

