I have a dream…or do I?

Matthew West (You are Everything)

I’m the one with two left feet
Standing on a lonely street
I can’t even walk a straight line
And every time you look at me
I’m spinning like an autumn leaf
Bound to hit bottom sometime

Where would I be without someone to save me
Someone who won’t let me fall
You are everything that I live for
Everything that I can’t believe is happening
You’re standing right in front of me
With arms wide open
All I know is
Every day is filled with hope
You are everything that I believe for
And I can’t help but breathe you in

Breathe again
Feeling all this life within
Every single beat of my heart
I’m the one with big mistakes
Big regrets and bigger breaks
Than I ever care to confess
Oh but, You’re the one who looks at me
And sees what I was meant to be
More than just a beautiful mess

Where would I be without someone to save me
Someone who won’t let me fall
You are everything that I live for
Everything that I can’t believe is happening
You’re standing right in front of me
With arms wide open
All I know is
Every day is filled with hope
You are everything that I believe for
And I can’t help but breathe you in
Breathe again

Jesus you are, EVERYthing…

I am always hearing the same songs over and over on the radio, and then at that perfect moment God allows my heart to hear the words in a new way and then bam…..I begin to cry or see things in a new perspective. Transitions….I think about how transitioning to a new season, or changes that happen in our lives. We must leave something to transition into something else. Tonight I met with my friends to have coffee and to open up God’s word for a bit. I love that we have started this because its encouraging and each week we get to see the girls open up, and it allows me to just sit and take it all in. Tonight Gina asked what our God given dreams were. I thought for sure it was ministry, or the calling on my life, or the Burning bush coffee shop I was destined to open up. But as we begin to pray and really allow God to search our hearts, I really couldn’t say….I know that I am called to speak to teenage girls, but my dream? My passion? MY GOD GIVEN dream/passion? What is it…so as we read different verses, we ended on that question. Do I have a God given dream> I am praying for God to show me with clarity, to give me the fire that I can’t do anything but pursue the dream! I want to never be still but to always moving in His direction. The song above is my heartbeat right now because HE is everything I live for!! We search for answers when He is right in front of us just waiting for us to come to Him. IN Hebrews 12 it says “No discipline is enjoyable while it is happening-it’s painful! But afterward there will be a peaceful harvest of right living for those who are trained in this way” NOW GOOD STUFF…”So take a NEW grip with your TIRED hands and strengthen your weak knees. Mark out a straight path for your feet so that those who are weak and lame will not fall but become strong!” OMGoodness~ I am weak, and I am tired and I need to get a new grip on things. I remember hanging from the monkey bars with those big calluses on the inside of my hands. I remember the moist palms as I would hang there and then after I would almost fall, I would envision alligators below and then I would get a new GRIP on the bars to make it across. We would do that for hours… The toughness of my hands grew, and my ability to stay longer before dropping would also increase and before you know it I would swing like a monkey from one side to the other without looking down or even beginning to slip. When we keep our eyes on the ONLY one that matters then we tend to be less distracted with the struggles we face, the circumstances we scream to get out of. I don’t want to go to Him with prayers of worry, but to stand before Him with boldness as I empty my heart and my fears at His feet…………

I want to be emptied…

.

One thought on “I have a dream…or do I?

  1. Being thankful for difficulties seems so……………….wrong. But this is the very thing the Bible suggests we do. One good thing about the writers of the new testament, they lived what they talked about in every way(including struggles and handling them), which I love. I think as Christians we loose sight of goals. If I’m doing sit-ups to loose an inch from my waist, and then achieve it, that training was worth it. If we viewed our godly disciplines in light of the goals He wants for us, I think we’d be more focused and plus more thankful for the each things we accomplish whether big or small. I really felt challenged last night.
    yogg

Leave a Reply

