tex messages….

Now I know when you read the title you said “she left off a  T” but I really didn’t…..Rachel and I were waiting on Rebekah to get out of school yesterday and she says “mom will you TEX gigi” I laughed and said sure. She wanted to send her picture after picture, and she would say all sorts of things to her. The one we ended up sending was her saying in her “diva southern twang” voice  “gigi of course i will ride rides with you at disney world and are you drinking your coffee right now?” Now if you could only put her little face to that and listen to it, it would crack you up. I love this new schedule this year because both of them get time to share about their day. Rachel and I had around 20 minutes to just sit and talk about her day and cut up with one another, and then when Rebekah climbed aboard we were able to talk about her day without Rachel getting mad because she wanted to also tell me.  Rachel loves gina I mean loves her. She asked me this morning on the way to school if she could go and spend the night (not with chloe) but with gigi. Gina validates and listens to her.  She does any thing gina wants her to do, and then does it 50 times more because Gina laughs EVERYtime:)….I realized that so many people are so hungry for attention and validation and hope in this world. Rebekah told me about a girl that was in the 7th grade that walks down the hall with all her hair in her face, black lips, black dark eye liner, all black clothing and never smiles……I told Rebekah to try and engage her somehow, through a smile or a hello or something. Rebekah said “mom I felt bad for her, because she looked so sad” Most people will look at her and label her as a FREAK but Rebekah saw someone who was hurting. Gina posted a comment on my blog that really got me thinking about all this it said…

“What do I want to be remembered by? Promptness or passion? Strictness or softness? Rigidness or reaching out?”

I desire for my children to reach out to others in the middle of someone’s pain, and truly see them and not their label, or struggle. The book unchristian that i have been reading has shown me that the perception of Christians STINKS! I am so sorry to those of you who have been hurt and judged by those who claim to follow Christ. The issue is this,  Jesus loves ALL! It says it plainly in

John 3:16  (The Message) 16-18“This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life. God didn’t go to all the trouble of sending his Son merely to point an accusing finger, telling the world how bad it was. He came to help, to put the world right again. Anyone who trusts in him is acquitted; anyone who refuses to trust him has long since been under the death sentence without knowing it. And why? Because of that person’s failure to believe in the one-of-a-kind Son of God when introduced to him.

Once we fall in love with Jesus, who we are just changes…We love like He does, we treat others like He does. I think back to Rachel and they way she wants for Gina to give her all her attention.  If I have second guess myself about a thought, a movie, a song, an action not glorifying God then that usually tells me I shouldn’t be doing it. I want nothing more than to bring honor to His name and for others to see Him in my every move… He is my maker, my love, my life! I encourage each of you to look around you at work, at school, at the store and seek out those who are hurting and offer something to them…(a smile, an encouraging word, a compliment) because when you do, you are showing them who Jesus truly is!

Give me YOUR eyes for just one second…..  “song by Brandon Heath”

One thought on “tex messages….

  1. Validating my Rach is very, very easy!! First of all-she’s a total cutie-pie, and secondly she’s my family and third she’s just, well Rach. She doesn’t know to put up falsehoods, so she’s herself in all her glory and I love it. I’m thinking of how many people we don’t really know and who don’t know who we really are because of the masks we all think we must wear. It’s so exhausting and I’m so sick of it. So, we must continue to take our masks off. Layer by layer. Rebekah is truly breaking the mold. She she’s you and Focus and Megan Rich and many others being real and now she’s making the decision to grow up being Rebekah.

    The time our family’s spent together this summer has been a pivotal moment of change for me and especially Chloe.

    Love u!!

    Oh yea, I wanted to tell you……………………………………………………………………………………Nov 30th, Liberty Tree Tavern. MHM!

Leave a Reply

