Intense dark mocha…mmmmm

OK so me and Gina literally go EVERYday to Joyful noise (our local Christian coffee house) I mean we skip lunch, grab a cup of coffee and get about 41 and a half minutes of talking. We love it~ So today Rebekah asked me if Chloe could spend the night again and I said of course. Since they play so well together it’s so easy to say yes these days:) They are into spiderwick chronicles and so they tend to their sprites, look for fairies so things are perfect. I told Gina that they could just meet me and the girls after soccer practice because Richard had to go to his mom’s to spend the night. So we met at Party City to get Rebekah’s Camp Rock party supplies. We are having a tent in the backyard and 8 girls spending the night out there. (I personally think they will be in at the stroke of 12…) but we will see. So anyways…We get the stuff, and instead of going to Wal-mart somehow we end up at Books a Million with INTENSE DARK MOCHA WITH A SHOT OF MINT espresso of course~ and by the way its 9:30! It’s brewing up a storm outside, and in the middle of our deep conversations about life and what not…Rebekah turns up missing. I ask Chloe and Rachel..”Where is Rebekah?” they both say she is over on the other side of the book shelf reading. Well I begin to say “Rebekah come over here” and she doesn’t respond…I say it again…she still doesn’t respond. I then go to the restroom NOT THERE, and then down every isle of the store NO WHERE! my heart is pounding by this point, and I am scared out of my mind~! I go to the front to have her paged, and intrusive thoughts are going through my mind, and I begin to say “Lord please protect her, Lord please protect her” and then here she comes around the corner! She was in a chair at the end of the isle (I couldn’t see the chair from the middle isle) I was so mad at her but so relieved~ Just this past Sunday night my lesson was about LOST people. Not people who aren’t saved necessarily, but those who once had a passion, or once in the middle of God’s will and some how ended up numb, dull and can’t seem to find their way back. I also had a kitten turn up missing this week too. I have rode around our block, called to her over and over and nothing! Now I know that Rebekah is far more important than a kitten, but I know how much that little kitten means to Rachel. I told Rebekah and Rachel about how so many people around us were going to go to hell if they didn’t decide to give their life to Christ and how they were also “lost” in a since as we were in the middle of riding around looking for Payton…It’s the third day and she still hasn’t returned:( Rebekah was found and Payton is gone! People come in and out of our lives so quickly and time tends to fly by and we lose moments to say “I love you”, “I appreciate you” and before you know it is gone~ I really truly believe God is putting an urgency in my heart because I look at people and something in my head goes off… I begin to wonder, what would happen if Christ returned right now. I love to talk to new people, just tonight as I was ordering for the second time (because I wasn’t feeling my mocha) God knew that I needed to be back up that counter, because a young girl with piercing’s, all black, a rainbow bracelet, hard core lyrics, black nails loose pants, tight tank top, no bra…you get the picture. I looked her in the eyes and begin to compliment her jewelry, nails and her style as we waited on our coffees. She smiled at me and leaned in to the counter. Her body language told me “I am hungry for conversation” I would love to say I led her to Jesus, but I didn’t get that far. But what I did do, is look past her outer appearance and encouraged her to be exactly who she was..beautiful, friendly and full of life! So many of us are searching for that right hair style, that perfect outfit to reflect who we think we need to be, and some of you have it hands down! But I know that girl came across as confident, and I could tell that she was anything but confident. I am so thankful for that Dark Mocha Espresso with a shot of mint, because it led me to a girl in need of hope and I am praying for her right now that God will place someone in her path to love her for who she is, and to most importantly accept her for who she is. God is so cool and I am encouraged to know that their are Christ followers out their looking for moments just like tonight~ I read tonight in John” Your approval means nothing to me”, Jesus said those very words,  and yet so many of us long for approval from this world. I am sorry for the girl who is reading this that feels like she has to dress a certain way to maintain the status of the friends she has, I am sorry that their is a girl reading this that feels so rejected by this world including Christians because she chooses to dress a certain way, I am sorry that their is a girl reading this that her parents won’t listen to her and won’t try to understand what she is feeling on the inside, I am sorry for that girl who is crying tonight because she longs to be loved and she longs to be in a relationship but because her father made bad decisions and left her at a young age she is left feeling empty and in a place of vulnerability, I am sorry that their is a girl in need of restoration tonight a bad decision has led you into a crisis and you don’t know where to turn, I am sorry that Christians continue to say we care and yet live like we don’t! I know that Christ loves you right where you are, and He longs to give you unconditional grace, and mercy and renewal. Well it’s time to get in the bed, and get some rest before the weekend begins. I am praying for many of you, and you know who you are. God is doing something and I know that I keep on saying this, but its in that HOPE I am relieved and able to rest fully in His promises~ I think about this, what if ________________never happens??? I mean really, what if the one thing we desire so badly never happens will we be happy? I can say that since I have faced my struggle with self image/body image and also pursuing God I have learned that I may never lose this struggle, but its in those moments when I am so broken, and so fed up God restores my heart and gives me a new burst of energy to get off my face and stand before Him and know that He loves me no matter what!  “For when I am weak, then I am strong” Keep pushing forward! Here are a few verses that bring a smile to my face:)

Holly says…”meet people where they are, and not where you think they should be” 

Paul says in 1 Corinthians 9:…”22 When I am with those who are weak, I share their weakness, for I want to bring the weak to Christ. Yes, I try to find common ground with everyone, doing everything I can to save some.”

Holly says…”Don’t wait for the change, Be the change”

These people didn’t wait for change they were the change and by just simply to be willing….. things CHANGED:)

Hebrews 11:29 It was by faith that the people of Israel went right through the Red Sea as though they were on dry ground. But when the Egyptians tried to follow, they were all drowned. 30 It was by faith that the people of Israel marched around Jericho for seven days, and the walls came crashing down.

.Hebrews 11: 33 By faith these people overthrew kingdoms, ruled with justice, and received what God had promised them. They shut the mouths of lions, 34 quenched the flames of fire, and escaped death by the edge of the sword. Their weakness was turned to strength. They became strong in battle and put whole armies to flight. 35 Women received their loved ones back again from death. 35  But others were tortured, refusing to turn from God in order to be set free. They placed their hope in a better life after the resurrection. 36 Some were jeered at, and their backs were cut open with whips. Others were chained in prisons. 37 Some died by stoning, some were sawed in half,[d] and others were killed with the sword. Some went about wearing skins of sheep and goats, destitute and oppressed and mistreated. 38 They were too good for this world, wandering over deserts and mountains, hiding in caves and holes in the ground.

Will you? Will I be willing to go, do,move, say,release,surrender,let-go,find,pursue,repent,discover, re-act,_________________? Lets do this!

Check out Perfect People by Natalie Grant……..good song!

One thought on “Intense dark mocha…mmmmm

  1. So how wacky is this-I drank my mocha espresso, 3/4 of yours, plus a half of a BK Joe!! My heart breaks as well for all who are caught up in the world system of acceptance. I told Megan B. last night that I truly thank God and consider it such a blessing to have friends that are godly. That level of being able share and knowing I have a listening ear, (even if I’m in the wrong) that I’ll be told in a kind way and out of love if I need to reevaluate
    my attitude. What’s even more awesome is that Jesus is more of a friend to all of us than we could ever be to each other. He’s never asleep. He always cares. He understands. He listens. Wow!!!!
    See u…………………………………………………..?????????????????????

Leave a Reply

