sharks and minnows!!

Hello everyone! I am in a place of not anger, not regret, not doubt just_________ ( I can’t think of the word) Ever since the blog incident, I have really began to look at the ministry of Jesus (while he was here on earth) I remember growing up and hearing all the stories about Noah, Moses, Joshua, Abraham…etc etc… but not the stories about how Jesus interacted with people on a daily basis.  He came to earth and had great conversations with people, experienced things just like us and yet we think at times “He can’t relate with what I am going through”.  My hearts desire is to pursue Christ FIRST, and then to pour my life into others so they can see God for who HE TRULY IS! Last night me, Richard, Rebekah, Rachel, Gina and  Chloe, all went swimming over at Meg B’s house. The girls love playing sharks and minnows.  Everyone lines up (in the shallow end for Rachel’s sake) the shark gets in the middle and asks a question to the minnows.  (for example) “If you ate ice cream today then swim” If the question applies to you then off you go, trying to make it to the other side before the shark tags you! I started thinking about how that is exactly the way A LOT of Christ followers feel today. They want to raise their hand and say “YES” I have dealt with this, or I am dealing with this but the fear of being exposed or judged, or caught keeps them in fear, and often on the side lines never moving forward. When I wrote that blog about my past I knew that some would drop their mouths and say negative things, but I also  knew that God would allow those who needed to see it be touched in some way by it (and many have emailed me!). The point is that I was willing to put myself out there, I MOVED even though I got resistance. I think when we create this perfection of Christianity we are failing so many people and sending this message “you will never be good enough”.  Richard taught the most AMAZING lesson the other night. Joshua (9-10 read it when you get a chance) I have heard this story several times, but what I liked about it this time was this… The guys that were tricking Joshua were lying to be protected and Joshua (without seeking God) allowed them to be under his protection.  Joshua formed an alliance with them without first asking God…and he ended up fighting a battle that he should have NEVER had to fight! That is so good. I react in situations, I say things to people I shouldn’t, I allow people in my life I shouldn’t, I take the opinions/advice from others  all before I seek and pray for God’s direction, and then I end up fighting battles GOD NEVER INTENDED FOR ME TO FIGHT! I love that:)  I want to be the minnow who says YES that’s me as I keep my eyes only (not the negativity or validation from others) on CHRIST.  I will MOVE off the sideline towards the purpose and desires He has placed in my heart! I want to be the Shark, who goes after those who may have enough baggage they could turn over a dump truck, those who have given up on this “Following Christ thing” I want those people to know that God is SOOOO real, so full of grace, hope, love and will meet them EXACTLY WHERE THEY ARE! I am not a picture of perfection, and I never want to be portrayed as such! I want others to look at me and not see me but see CHRIST in the way I love people, treat people, interact with people! We have to see that when we let others dictate our worship, the way we serve, the way we treat people and who we interact with etc etc we may end up fighting battles that God never intended for us to fight!!

Joshua 9:14 The men of Israel looked them over and accepted the evidence. But they didn’t ask God about it.

Psalm 119: (The Message)1-8 You’re blessed when you stay on course, walking steadily on the road revealed by God.
   You’re blessed when you follow his directions,
      doing your best to find him.
   That’s right—you don’t go off on your own;
      you walk straight along the road he set.
   You, God, prescribed the right way to live;
      now you expect us to live it.
   Oh, that my steps might be steady,
      keeping to the course you set;
   Then I’d never have any regrets
      in comparing my life with your counsel.
   I thank you for speaking straight from your heart;
      I learn the pattern of your righteous ways.
   I’m going to do what you tell me to do;
      don’t ever walk off and leave me.

(Don’t let others dictate your walk with Christ! Let Him lead you and guide you, He promises to walk with you!)

Joshua 1:9 Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. God, your God, is with you every step you take.”

Get lost in Him…………….

One thought on “sharks and minnows!!

  1. Oh, that my steps might be steady,
    keeping to the course you set;
    Then I’d never have any regrets
    in comparing my life with your counsel.

    So many have regrets about their walk, and this tells us why. When we walk in the paths other than our own, even when it gains acceptance of people of earth, it’s one we eventually regret, because it’s wrong for us. Even a godly path for another, may not be our path. Our path is our own in Him. He tells us.
    I don’t want regrets.
    Like is this the scripture for Beauty Within??
    Oh, that my steps might be steady,
    keeping to the course you set;
    Then I’d never have any regrets

Leave a Reply

