Clear the stage….

Michael Spooner, our worship leader at M-fuge has a song on his cd:

Clear the Stage the lyrics are as follows…

Clear the stage and set the sound a lights ablaze
If that’s the measure you must take to crush the idols.
Jerk the pews and all the decorations too
Until the congregation’s few then have revival.
Tell your friends that this is where the party ends,
Until you’re broken for your sins you can’t be social
And seek the Lord and wait for what he has in store,
And know that great is your reward so just be hopeful.
Cause you can sing all you want to,
 Yes you can sing all you want to.
 You can sing all you want to,
 But don’t get me wrong, worship is more than a song. 
Take a break from all the plans that you have made
And sit at home alone and wait for God to whisper.
Beg and plead to open up His mouth and speak
And pray for real upon your knees until they blister.
Shine the light on every corner of your life
Until the pride and lust and lies are in the open
Read the Word and put to test the things you’ve heard
Until your heart and soul are stirred and rocked and broken.

Anything I put before my God is an idol
Anything I want with all my heart is an idol.
Anything I can’t stop thinking of is an idol.
Anything that I give all my love is an idol.
We must not worship something that’s not even worth it,
Clear the stage, make some space for the one who deserves it.
And I can sing all I want to,
Yes I can sing all I want to,
I can sing all I want to,
And still get it wrong…

As I listened to this song over and over and over again I started to think about how the church would be if we would all just deal with things in our own lives and allow God to truly do a work within our hearts. I love being at church, I am there all the time. FOCUS is what keeps me real, and striving to be a better example of what a true follower of Christ looks like. We take for granted the things we often call “struggles” and “problems” when really thats what makes us who we are. I taught out of John 9 last night, and how Jesus saw the man who was blind, and his disciples asked him if this man had sinned or if his parents have sinned. I thought about how many times we pass judgment when we see someone down at the altar or someone who looks different than us, or may worship in their own way. If you don’t raise your hands to worship, that doesn’t mean anything less than raising both of your hands. God wants pure worship and when our hearts are focused on Him, than he is pleased with our authentic worship. Jesus comes back to his disciples and says in verse 3 “It was not because of his sins or his parents’ sins,” Jesus answered. “This happened so the power of God could be seen in him. We have to open our eyes and see God in every situation…..Things are going to happen that frustrate us, that make us mad, fill us with anger, resentment and sometimes even bitterness but its how we choose to deal with those emotions. We have to allow God to use us in EVERY situation/circumstance not just the ones when we are doing “good”  or looking “spiritual”  moments. In Isaiah 1:13-17

“Quit your worship charades.
   I can’t stand your trivial religious games:
Monthly conferences, weekly Sabbaths, special meetings—
   meetings, meetings, meetings—I can’t stand one more!
Meetings for this, meetings for that. I hate them!
   You’ve worn me out!
I’m sick of your religion, religion, religion,
   while you go right on sinning.
When you put on your next prayer-performance,
   I’ll be looking the other way.
No matter how long or loud or often you pray,
   I’ll not be listening.
And do you know why? Because you’ve been tearing
   people to pieces, and your hands are bloody.
Go home and wash up.
   Clean up your act.
Sweep your lives clean of your evildoings
   so I don’t have to look at them any longer.
Say no to wrong.
   Learn to do good.
Work for justice.
   Help the down-and-out.
Stand up for the homeless.
   Go to bat for the defenseless.

That BLEW ME AWAY! Our Pastor is in the process of praying and seeking God’s direction for our church and with that changes will be made and if you agree or disagree well it really doesn’t matter. We must stand behind him, pray for him with all our hearts and allow God to purge and clean our own hearts as we move forward to rocking our community and city for Christ! I am so in……

 

 

Leave a Reply

