May I introduce to you……

At every event you attend, if their is a speaker, singer, you name it, they are introduced with all their accomplishments, all their awards, honors blah blah blah.  A friend of mine and I went to lunch today and on the way back we got on the subject of a you tube with Steve Harvey on it. He is at a TD JAKES big thing, and Steve is there doing a comedy section entitled “He ain’t through with me yet” in the middle of that he said If I had the opportunity to introduce  Christ I would…….He started this long, pumped up description of Christ! It gave me straight up chills! We tend to chase success and accomplishments to add to our name, when really none of that even matters! One thing I love about Richard, is that he treats everybody the same…Doctor to homeless he loves them and respects them NO differently. That is truly a gift! I see people make themselves known in certain social situations yet, wouldn’t even glance at the man on the street pouring sweat and only asking for a dollar or two. This is something I have a hard time stomaching! I think I have started thinking about this because Monday I leave for Nashville for our youth’s mission trip! I remember being downtown and just about every couple of steps their would be someone asking for money, and people are just tossing coins in their guitar cases as they walk into all the trendy stores to buy souvenirs and such……I am just as guilty people! I find myself talking a good game, but in reality fail daily. I love people with all my heart and I have the gift of mercy for sure! But when we let others cloud our vision then we have royally missed out on some major blessings! I remember the story of Jesus washing the disciple’s feet. MY SAVIOUR HOLY, JUST PERFECT getting down and washing dirty gross, calloused feet? Most of us shutter at the thought of that, but think about how that made those disciples feel…..

John 13:1 before the Passover celebration, Jesus knew that his hour had come to leave this world and return to his Father. He had loved his disciples during his ministry on earth, and now he loved them to the very end.[a] 2 It was time for supper, and the devil had already prompted Judas,[b] son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. 3 Jesus knew that the Father had given him authority over everything and that he had come from God and would return to God. 4 So he got up from the table, took off his robe, wrapped a towel around his waist, 5 and poured water into a basin. Then he began to wash the disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel he had around him.

What I see is that LOVE IS AN ACTION FOR SURE! He loved them, HE GOT UP I thought to myself,  I wonder who asked “what are you doing Jesus” then he poured some water, and still its not recorded that anyone asked uh Jesus do you need some help? Then he began WASHING THEIR FEET! That is a symbol of true love, humility and honor! It must have made them feel so honored and truly left them speechless and in awe!  As I set out to conquer the world at this mission trip!  I will serve people, love people and establish new friendships, I have to realize those needs are right in front of me HERE! BLOOM WHERE I AM PLANTED! and for now I am in Gastonia NC. I have to see things the way God sees them and not allow the culture (my way or the highway) shape my decisions.  So..Today I am praying for STRENGTH! I have to drive next week, and I get NO sleep each night already….I have to finish my house work, pack, do my job stuff, care for my dying mother n law, be a wife, mother, friend etc and all the while love people?  I can’t….no I will do this! Pray for me! I read this poem inside of my dad’s mom’s funeral brochure on this past Saturday…..

God hath not promised ….Skies always blue, Flower-strewn pathways all our lives through…

God hath not promised sun without rain, Joy without sorrow peace without pain….

But..GOD HATH PROMISED…STRENGTH for the day, REST for the labor, LIGHT for the way…

GRACE for the trials, HELP from above, UNFAILING SYMPATHY, UNDYING LOVE

Now that’s an introduction:)

Leave a Reply

