can I get a flashlight, because I refuse to be in the DARK!

This past weekend Richard and I had sometime to ourselves. Our 12 year anniversary is coming up on the 25th of May, and My birthday on the 29th! May is so busy with anniversaries and so on. My dad was killed 10 years ago this month, along with mother’s day, my sisters birthday you name it, its in May.  We spent the day cleaning, him in the yard and me mopping etc etc. My mom had my niece this weekend and decided to take the girls to Carowinds along with my lil cuz and my aunt. So Richard and I decided to go on a hot date you know…eat, movie and to where every married couple goes either before or after their date….LIFEWAY! cracks me up, because I know many of you know where I am coming from. I went to get me a new book, and after reading The Barbarian Way,  I def knew I wanted another book by Erwin McManus. I chose Chasing Daylight. Its based around the scripture John 9:4-5

 4We must quickly carry out the tasks assigned us by the one who sent us.[a] The night is coming, and then no one can work. 5 But while I am here in the world, I am the light of the world.”

Richard and I are reading it together, no let me re-phrase that…I am reading it to Richard. Us doing devotions, is me reading to him. He cracks me up, because he stops me 100 times to reflect and tells me what he thinks about what I just read!!! I started reading it and the more I read, the louder my “oh that was good” got. Already this book has made me realize that timing is EVERYTHING! For those of you who know me, know that I am so busy and so many times I lose opportunities in the lines at the store, or at the gas pump, because my mission is to get from point A to point B with little to no stress or distractions.  I just cackled because thats impossible! me to NOT be distracted. My mind races with so many thoughts, ideas and I often forget them before I am able to tell someone or allow those dreams to take flight. I know that ministry stuff  is something I crave daily!  I say this in almost EVERY blog, and I pray it daily, God use me where you need me, but please let me do ministry full time! But I know that God’s timing is something that I can’t even fathom so another day behind the desk is where I will be until then….OK back to the book. I looked at the verse and noticed two things. 1. It says QUICKLY and 2. with the task assigned to us by the one who sent us. Now what I take from that is either behind my desk, in the line at the store, at the gas pump, at the dance studio, at the soccer field, in the church building, at the coffee house, at the mall, fixing my girl’s hair, at a meeting, in the traffic jam, on the beach, on the phone, at the computer…TIME IS QUICKLY GETTING AWAY! My time on this earth is a blink of an eye, and I have to choose to maximize my time to bring Christ the glory that is deserved! I can’t let the distractions, fears, weakness, struggles etc stand in the way of what God has ASSIGNED ME TO DO. I know the calling on my life, and the gifts that have been given to me.  I have to DO something with those! My prayer today and as I complete this book is that God will allow me to step out and do something so radical and amazing , no matter the risk! Fear is rooted in shame, Hiding is rooted in insecurities, and blame is rooted in denial. I don’t want  this domino effect happen and leave me  standing questioning “where my life went”, “why didn’t I make a difference”, “What is my purpose now” I want to look back at my life not last year, last month, last week, yesterday but 5 minutes ago and say I GAVE IT ALL I HAVE! God use me in ways I can’t even imagine! mmmm that is good stuff! woooo 🙂 Love to all! Holly<><

GO GET THE BOOK!

Ephesians 3:20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think

IMAGINE THAT:)

Leave a Reply

