what does a sparrow have to do with it?

So…. this morning I wake up early to finish some work that needed to be finalized today. I almost started and I saw my Bible laying there and decided I was going to read a couple of verses to get the day off  to a good start….I turned to this passage….

 Matthew 10:29Are not two sparrows sold for a penny[d]? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from the will of your Father. 30And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. 31So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

as I read that this morning, I realized that I am cared for beyond what I can even imagine. I mean I have a lot of hair, my hair dresser always thins it out when I go and says to me “this is enough to make a wig”. Now I know that my hair can be bushy, and even frizzy…(I thank God for hair products these days!) but to know that the very number of hairs on my head is known by God, completely leaves me in awe of who God is and most importantly how in CONTROL He actually is of every detail in my life. As I left my house I saw so many birds swooping in front of my car, and actually joked about it to my cuz Gina…I said “God is def trying to teach me something with this sparrow thing, I have almost killed two” we laughed, but as the day has gone on, I have watched birds at every light, and stop along the way. The way they soar across the sky, hunting for their food, flapping their wings with passion as they fly and give it their all just to make it to that next branch, sign, or tree  for rest. I wanted to see how long a sparrow’s lifespan was…I found this statement several times…”they live 5 years average in the wild and longer in captivity” (National Geographic) I read that and thought to myself 5 years in the wild, and longer in captivity….hmmmm what is it about that, and then it clicked for ME! when we are living on our own and without GOD the lifespan is hopeless!! But in captivity (to me that means sweet surrender…) it says they can live LONGER (ETERNITY in Heaven with our sweet Jesus) Now who would of thought I would ever make such a parallel between the two… but God has a way of allowing birds to dive in front of my car and I realized that without Him, I am hopeless, I am lost, I am doomed! But with HIM I can do ALL things! I have a place of rest any time I need it, I have an ever flowing abundance of grace, mercy and love! He KNOWS the numbers of my hairs on my head! He knows when a sparrow falls to the ground! He wants to be apart of every detail in your life, we just have to let go, and allow Him to fully have our hearts! I prayed for renewel today, for a freshness, a since of freedom! God has shown me so much about who I am, and how I see myself that I could write a book (maybe I will someday) I long for the day to stand before God and just stand in awe before Him, without guilt, without shame without no other thought except for well…..just speechless!

simplyHolly:)

Leave a Reply

