lets try this again…..

I have just started getting comments on my blog page on our actual church website, and its a new process for me because I have to approve them in a weird way, I received a comment yesterday and didn’t approve it (not on purpose), so I decided to go to their page and saw this…..this was their actual blog as well as their comment they left me……. 

 But God’s law is PERFECT! 

This is in response to hizzolly4him’s post in Holly’s Blog…

“Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets: I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill. For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall in no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled. Whosoever therefore shall break one of these least commandments, and shall teach men so, he shall be called the least in the kingdom of heaven: but whosoever shall do and teach them, the same shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven”. Matt. 5:17-19. KJV

Would you prefer that in a more contemporary version?

“Don’t suppose that I came to do away with the Law and the Prophets. I did not come to do away with them, but to give them their full meaning. Heaven and earth may disappear. But I promise you that not even a period or comma will ever disappear from the Law. Everything written in it must happen. If you reject even the least important command in the Law and teach others to do the same, you will be the least important person in the kingdom of heaven. But if you obey and teach others its commands, you will have an important place in the kingdom”. Matt. 5:17-19. CEV

Everybody’s favorite… the NIV

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven”. Matt. 5:17-19.

“Those who forsake the law praise the wicked, but those who keep the law resist them” Prov. 28:4

God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. There is no “traditional” or “contemporary” with Him. It is ALL about His law. Jesus came to “free” us from the bondage that prevented us from KEEPING God’s laws, not freedom from tradition. How about freedom from sin? Going “contemporary”, being “liberal”, “modernizing”, “changing with the times” is precisely Christendom’s problem. Our churches definitely have problems because the “inhabitants” have problems (attitudes, arrogance, ignorance of the Word, carnal lives, etc). But what you prescribe is more problem! There are some crazy “rules” in some churches, but there is also perverted liberalism. It is indeed all about the heart and it can only be right knowing God’s perfect law AND having the power (Holy Spirit) to KEEP His law. God’s laws are righteous…ALL OF THEM, even the ones you don’t agree with. Peace to you.

 

After reading this my first reaction was to be mad, and then it turned into the very thing in which I want nothing to do with, I don’t want to debate why I feel the way I do nor do I want to point fingers because that is not who I am. The blog’s purpose wasn’t to down play sin. Sin is what seperates us from God! I get that. My reasoning is that I see teenagers, and adults and children trying so hard to please that they often seem like they failed and it wasn’t the case at all. For example, my daughter who is very smart, loves people and loves God with all her heart. Watching her develop into this young lady who looks at people with compassion and mercy has been amazing for me to watch, because she gets it! I mean really gets JESUS. Now our church has bible drills each year, and for some reason Rebekah doesn’t do well, she gets nervous, and when she doesn’t achieve a goal she feels like a failure. Now I am not saying bible drills are WRONG or BAD or LEGALISM I am saying FOR MY CHILD she internalized that if “I don’t do good” and thats a standard that has not been set by God but by the rules set for bible drills, if you don’t react quickly you don’t advance. We have girls who are going to the state level, and are doing amazing with this and I think that is awesome. But for Rebekah, it mean I didn’t measure up…Period. I think that learning scripture is a vital part of being a Christian, because its what pushes me through the day when I can’t go on, it renews my soul, it directs my life and allows me to see GOD for who He is! For the guy who wrote the response, I didn’t mean for you to take it as if I was promoting liberalism, or free spirited mumbo jumbo. I simply was saying that in CHRIST we have become a new creation and with that isn’t a set of standards (and I am not talking about God’s perfect law because I agree with that statment) I mean the way in which we treat others by the way they are dressed, and who they associate with, and their past…..Matthew 9:10 says the following

10While Jesus was having dinner at Matthew’s house, many tax collectors and “sinners” came and ate with him and his disciples. 11When the Pharisees saw this, they asked his disciples, “Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and ‘sinners’?” 12On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. 13But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’[a] For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”

I simply want others to realize that when we see people the way God sees them and we show them mercy and compassion then Christ is glorified in that moment, and a relationship is being built and then once that occurs God does amazing things……….

Holly

Leave a Reply

