Do you know your enemy?

Who is satan? who is your enemy? these are two of the questions asked last night at youth. Adam spoke last night about knowing our enemy and not falling for the lies he feeds in our heads. A few people answered “ourselves”, pride and a few other things. In the garden, satan caused Eve to doubt God, become discouraged, and ashamed within minutes! Since Dec 16th I have lost 25 pounds. I am trying to eat healthier and in moderation, not because I want to be skinny anymore, or look a certain way, its not about that for me at this point, its my blood pressure and how my body is handling stress as I get older. I can say I am ok with how I look, but after last night’s lesson and now that I am in full force with planning and praying for the Beauty Within Seminar, the demon TRIED to whisper in my head this morning, about what I had on, about the way  I felt, and he tried to make me doubt the beauty within…..here are a few of my thoughts…..”I don’t have anything that I don’t look fat in, I mean look at your arms in that short sleeve shirt”…..”Holly you don’t have the funds, or the excitement from others for the beauty within” But as I drove to work, I said satan you will not send me back to where I was 6 months ago! a half of a year has passed and I have triumphed over the constant struggle with self image. When you struggle with something, its not always because of sin, or because you are our out of God’s will. Satan has used the absence of my father for many years when I was a child to fuel the emotions of not being accepted, or needed and over the years my appearance and fitting in became my primary concern. Self hatred plagued my mind for years! But when I gave up in December, and said I refuse to allow satan to feed me his stupid lies….something happened! God has given me so much for this year’s Beauty Within. The vision is crystal clear, maybe their isn’t a lot of money to spend, but I know that God will provide! I don’t need a cheerleading squad to push me and motivate me, because I have my love for teenage girls and a passion that burns so deep in my soul for others to get past their own struggles. Satan can get over making me doubt myself! So this morning, I have realized that satan never stops working to distract Christ followers. If you aren’t struggling, or being attacked by satan, than CHECK YOURSELF! Because maybe you aren’t being effective already, so he doesn’t need to distract you any longer. The whole purpose behind paul’s “thorn” was to keep him from becoming prideful. God allows us to struggle with certain things to keep us on our face before him. Satan can’t take our hearts, but he can try and take our joy and he can INVADE our thoughts, and steal our time! So for the rest of this beautiful day, I am going to rest in knowing that God is in control of every detail of my life, and continue to PURSUE the calling on my life!! Get lost in HIM…I promise you will never be the same!

 

Genesis 3:1-7

1 Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the LORD God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?”

 2 The woman said to the serpent, “We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, 3 but God did say, ‘You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.’ ”

 4 “You will not surely die,” the serpent said to the woman. 5 “For God knows that when you eat of it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.”

 6 When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. 7 Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.

 

THE BARBARIAN WAY

“Somewhere along the way the movement of Jesus Christ became civilized as Christianity. We created a religion using the name of Jesus Christ and convinced ourselves that God’s optimal desire for our lives was to insulate us in a spiritual bubble where we risk nothing, sacrifice nothing, lose nothing, worry about nothing. Yet Jesus’ death wasn’t to free us from dying, but to free us from the fear of death. Jesus came to liberate us so that we could die up front and then live. Jesus Christ wants to take us to places where only dead men and women can go.” – Erwin Mcmanus

Leave a Reply

