BINGO!!!!

Bingo! I am sitting at work right now and in the art studio beside my office, there is a room filled with older adults that have mild to moderate mental retardation. They all have their 1-2 bingo cards in front of them with the anticipation of that last number being called out so they can yell BINGO! There faces light up, and they are so excited because that means they get to go to the table filled with prizes. Pens, jewelery, hats, shirts etc. Now the part that tugs at my heart is all the prizes are used items. They come each week with anticipation of winning, and all the while the prizes are used. The determination, the focus, the dedication is over the top for these individuals. I love hearing someone yell BINGO! I smile everytime. Its every Wednesday at 9:00, you see them come rolling in ready to roll. I started thinking about how often I take for granted the things I have in my life. I love being around the people I serve at my work. I truly feel those who have special needs are sent from God himself. For us to show unconditional love, to gain patience, and to see life differently! But often times something else happens….I am encouraged, I am shown things I can’t even imagine, I see smiles that could light the sky, I see determination and motivation for simple things I take for granted, I am shown life lived with eagerness and passion. I am suppose to help and encourage them, and yet they inspire me in ways I can’t even explain. I have one little guy who is so amazing to be around. When I walk in a room he runs with his arms wide open and embraces me with a tight squeeze. His will to accomplish things drives me to try harder, his love of life pushes me to see the things I usually am to busy to see. His accomplishments show me that anything is possible.  The way God has designed each one of us starts inside of us. The heartbeat of our lives is reflected in all our areas of our lives. If you love God with ALL your heart then it shows in the way you treat people, and how you react and how you work, what you listen to, who you “hang” with, how you make your decisions…..It just lines up that way. I think we get so caught up in the “how to” moments that we forget that simple obedience goes along way. When we step out of the way, and allow God to do something that no other heart surgeon can do, something just happens! When you experience God for who HE TRULY IS, then nothing else satisfies the desires/wants/needs etc etc etc…….allow Him to do the unthinkable! Holly<><

Psalm 5:11 But let all who take refuge in you rejoice;
      let them sing joyful praises forever.
   Spread your protection over them,
      that all who love your name may be filled with joy.

Ephesians 3:20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.

One thought on “BINGO!!!!

  1. I recently read that bingo has a positive effect on people in dementia care. Besides it’s always fun to win prizes, no matter if it’s a pen or hard cash – as you write, people really light up when playing bingo 🙂

Leave a Reply

